Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2022 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Robert Emmets seal under 21 win with late flourish

Boherbue travelled to Newmarket on Thursday evening last, the 26th of August, to take on Robert Emmets in the Duhallow under 21 football championship.

The sides traded early scores during the opening period of the contest, with Robert Emmets’ Hugh O’Connor registering his third point on eleven minutes to level up the match, 0-03 to 0-03. O’Connor doubled his total with three unanswered points, to give his side control, entering the first water break. Boherbue responded well on the resumption, scoring 1-01 without reply. A Paudie O’Sullivn point on the 22nd minute brought parity back to the tightly contested match. Emmets regained the lead on two separate occasions before the half hour, but each effort was cancelled out by the travelling side, and the teams went to the dressing rooms on equal footing, 0-09 to 1-06, at the break.

Boherbue opened the scoring of the second half, with the first two scores of the period. These were quickly nullified by a brace from Hugh O’Connor, who then put his side back in the lead with a 38th minute free. A pair of Adam Birtley points on 40 and 42 minutes extended the advantage further, but a flurry of scores from Boherbue ensured the contest was all square again at the final water break, 0-14 to 1-11. Mirroring the first half, the visitors scored 1-01 on resumption to retake control at a vital stage. Late scores from Rory Sheahan, Jamie Finn and Paudie O’Sullivan reduced the arrears to the minimum. With time almost up, Hugh O’Connor regained possession of the ball and went on a powerful run through the Boherbue defence, finishing well to the back of the net. A 60th minute Rory Sheahan score was cancelled out by the opposition, deep into injury time. With just two points separating the sides, Hugh O’Connor rounded off a fantastic display for both himself and his teammates, with scores on the 66th and 68th minute, to ensure the Newmarket Lismire combination won out 1-20 to 2-13.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Hugh O’Connor (1-12, 5f, 1×45), Adam Birtley (0-03), Paudie O’Sullivan (0-02), Rory Sheahan (0-02), Jamie Finn (0-01)

Ben Newman
James Moynihan Mikey Browne Eamon Hayes
Peter Goggin Darragh Lynn Sean Murphy
David Cottrell Paudie O'Sullivan
Rory Sheahan Michael Lane Hugh O'Connor
Jamie Kenneally Adam Birtley Dylan Reidy
Subs: Ethan Hourigan, Jamie Finn.


Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors