Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2022 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket and Aghada play out entertaining draw

Newmarket travelled to Glantane on Saturday the 4th of September, to take on Aghada in the opening round of the Bon Secours Premier Intermediate Football Championship.

It was Aghada that began the afternoon’s scoring, with a point on four minutes, which was cancelled out five minutes later, by a Conor O’Keeffe free. The Aghada men then entered a purple patch, scoring the next three points in as many minutes, to lead 0-01 to 0-04, at the first water break. On resumption, John Ryan added to Newmarket’s total, but the Imokilly side extended their advantage to an ominous four points on 20 minutes. Newmarket replied through Ryan and Conor O’Keeffe to narrow the gap to two. A further O’Keeffe free on 30 minutes, shortly after a point for the opposition, left the scoreboard reading 0-05 to 0-07 at the break.

Both teams resumed the match in quick scoring fashion, with Newmarket points coming from John Ryan, Darren and Conor O’Keeffe. Their side then drew level on 37 minutes, through another Conor O’Keeffe score. The contest remained close and despite points from Ryan and Conor O’Keeffe, it remained all-square, at 0-11 a piece, entering the final water break. As before, a Conor O’Keeffe point was quickly responded to and the sides could not be separated, with only ten minutes left to play. The Duhallow side retook the lead on 55 minutes through Michael Cottrell and another Conor O’Keeffe score five minutes later, looked to have given his side enough of a cushion, with time almost up. Alas, two late injury time scores from Aghada ensured the entertaining contest ended in a draw, 0-14 a piece. Next up for Newmarket is the round 2 game against Na Piarsaigh, while Aghada take on Castletownbere.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Conor O’Keeffe (0-08, 2f), John Ryan (0-03), Mikey Cottrell (0-01), Darren O’Keeffe (0-01), Ryan O’Keeffe (0-01).

Ben Newman
Paudie Allen Alan Ryan Mikey Browne
Kevin O'Sullivan Gavin Forde Daniel Norton
T. J. Brosnan Mikey Cottrell
Darren O'Keeffe Cathal Browne Tony O'Keeffe
Conor O'Keeffe Ryan O'Keeffe John Ryan
Subs: David Cottrell, Colin O'Sullivan

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Venue:Pairc Ui Chaoimh
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors