Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2021 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket Reach First Duhallow Junior A Hurling Final In 33 Years

A ten point haul from midfielder Donal Hannon helped Newmarket to a 2-13 to 2-11 victory over Kilbrin. The game was played on September 2nd in Tullylease.

The teams traded early scores, before young Cian Crowley rattled the Kilbrin net on the fourth minute. O’Connor and Hannon points pushed Newmarket further ahead. With thirteen minutes played the ball broke to the Kilbrin number ten who riffled an unstoppable shot to the top corner of the Newmarket net to leave one between the sides. This didn’t seem to effect a young Newmarket side, who hit the next two points of the game. With five minutes remaining in the first half, Newmarket lead on a score line of 1-06 to 1-03. Crowley and Hannon added another two before the break to Kilbrin’s one, leaving Newmarket four ahead at half time, 1-08 to 1-04.

Kilbrin hit two early points at the start of the second half, before sharp shooter Hannon added two for Newmarket to put four between the sides once again. With twelve minutes of the second half played, Crowley pushed Newmarket further ahead with another goal. Kilbrin scored the next two points before Hannon stepped up again with a point. The teams shared scores and Newmarket led by five points on the sixty minute mark. Kilbrin weren’t going down without a fight and in the first minute of injury time, the Kilbrin midfielder riffled the back of the Newmarket net, putting two between the sides. In a tense few last moments, Kilbrin manged to get the ball forward and win a free on the Newmarket twenty one yard line. A reflex save from Kearney followed by a John Ryan clearance meant Newmarket won on a scoreline of 2-13 to 2-11 and advanced to the final for the first time since 1985.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Donal Hannon (0-10 9F), Cian Crowley (2-01), Barry O’Connor (0-02)

Darragh Kearney
Aidan Browne Alan Ryan Donnacha Fitzpatrick
Jack Guiney John Ryan Paudie Allen
Kevin O'Sullivan Donal Hannon
Cian Crowley Tony O'Keeffe Barry O'Connor
Paddy Browne Stephen Stokes Ryan O'Keeffe
Subs: Tadhg Ryan, Cathal Browne and Darren O'Keeffe

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors