Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2021 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket Withstand Late Cullen Effort

In a game which saw Nicky Barrett making his debut in goals for the footballers, Newmarket overcame Cullen with a point to spate in the Duhallow JBFL. The scoreboard showed Newmarket 2-09, Cullen 1-11 at full time. The game was played the 9th of August in Cullen.

The game began slowly for both teams and after 17 minutes Cullen lead 0-02 to 0-01, however Newmarket missed numerous goal chances within this period. After the slow start, the game began to open up with both teams splitting the posts before attacking wing back Daniel “Disco” Norton made a burst up the field and dispatched coolly to the Cullen net. The scoreboard now showed Newmarket 1-04, Cullen 0-04 after 25 minutes. The away side pressed on for the remainder of the first half with scores coming from Bodie, O’Keeffe & Murphy and Newmarket lead at the break 1-07 to Cullen 0-05.

An early score from young Browne pushed Newmarket further ahead, however some good football from the home side helped them back into the game. Bodie added another for Newmarket and after forty minutes Newmarket lead 1-09 to Cullen 0-09. Newmarket found it hard to split the posts in the second half, which showed to be giving Cullen some confidence. With seven minutes remaining, a ball broke to Robert Stack who finished to the corner of the Cullen net. Cullen continued to battle and quickly added a point before the ball broke to their wing forward who dispatched a low shot giving debutant goalkeeper Barrett little chance. With Newmarket now clearly on the back foot, Cullen added another point in injury time. However this wasn’t enough as Newmarket came out victorious on a score line of Newmarket 2-09, Cullen 1-11.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

TJ Bodie (0-03), Daniel Norton (1-00), Robert Stack (1-00), Ryan O’Keeffe (0-02), John Ryan (0-01), Paddy Browne (0-01), Mike Kenneally (0-01), Shane Murphy (0-01)

Nicky Barrett
Paudie Allen Brendan Stack John Scanlon
Eddie Allen Pa O’Brien Daniel Norton
Colin O'Sullivan Robert Stack
John Ryan T.J. Bodie Paddy Browne
Michael Kenneally Ryan O'Keeffe Shane Murphy
Subs: Jonathan Flaherty, Jeremy Murphy, Michael O'Leary

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors