Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2020 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Late Kilbrin goals end Newmarket’s Championship Campaign

Newmarket lost to Kilbrin in the Duhallow Junior A Semi –Final which was played in Lismire.

Newmarket got off the a blistering start inside the first minute with Kilkenny native Niall Rohan finding the back of the net and Barry O’ Connor raising a white flag.  Both teams then traded scores back and forth with Donal Hannon on target from placed balls to leave Newmarket leading 1-03 to 0-3 after  7 minutes. Kilbrin then found the net in the 8th minute and followed with eight points without reply to lead 1-11 to 1-03 after 21 minutes. Niall Rohan managed to stop the rot with a point which was followed by another Kilbrin score. Jamie Hayes who returned  from a long injury layoff found himself in the Kilbrin area and found the net with blistering strike in the 27th minute. Hannon followed this with a point to leave 3 points between the sides. The scoreline read Newmarket 2-06 Kilbrin 1-12.
Kilbrin registered the first score of the second half with a pointed free. In the 35th minute it was that man again Niall Rohan who found the back of the net with a superb finish to level the game. Newmarket looked to have all the momentum as  Conor O’Keeffe and two Donal Hannon sideline cuts to leave Newmarket leading by 2 with 12 minutes to play. Kilbrin responded with a point in the 52nd minute to leave only a point between the sides. In the 55th minute Kilbrin struck for a goal to lead by 2 points.  A minute later, a green flag was again raised for Kilbrin and they now lead by 5 points with 5 minutes to go.  Kilbrin tagged on 4 more points to confirm there attendance in the Duhallow Final.  The final scoreline read Newmarket 3-09 Kilbrin 3-18

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Niall Rohan  (2-01), Donal Hannon (0-06), Jamie Hayes (1-00), Conor O’Keeffe (0-01), Barry O’Connor (0-01)

Shane McAuliffe
Jack Guiney Robert Stack Donnacha Fitzpatrick
Gavin Forde John Ryan Alan Ryan
Kevin O'Sullivan Donal Hannon
Tony O'Keeffe Jamie Hayes Michael Kenneally
Conor O'Keeffe Niall Rohan Barry O'Connor
Subs: Aidan Browne, Paudie Allen, Shane Murphy





Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors