Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2024 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket edge out debutants Lismire

Newmarket welcomed Lismire to Priory Park on Sunday afternoon in what was the opening round of the Ducon Cup Junior A football league.

The fixture marked a milestone for Lismire, as they were playing at the grade for the first time. The visitors, having the better of the first quarter, led 0-01 to 0-03 after 18 minutes. Newmarket’s opportunities improved, scoring four points without reply. As the half drew to a close, Lismire again found their range, levelling the game at five points a piece. Two late scores for the visitors rounded off a closely contested half.

Lismire stretched their advantage to three in the opening minutes of the second period. A strong middle ten minutes from Newmarket, which produced 2-02, wrestled back control of the tie. Their first goal came from the boot of Ryan O’Keeffe, with Mikey Browne dispatching a penalty soon after. The home side were able to maintain the cushion over the closing stages, securing a 2-10 to 0-12 victory on the day. Commiserations to Lismire on what was a close, entertaining contest and best of luck for the year ahead.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

TJ Bodie (0-05), Ryan O’Keeffe (1-01), Mikey Browne (1-00), Gavin Forde (0-01), Ethan Hourigan (0-01), Robert Stack (0-01), Paudie O’Sullivan (0-01). 

Ben Newman
Paddy Browne Gavin Forde Mikey Browne
Paudie O'Sullivan T. J. Brosnan Jack O'Connor
Cathal Browne David Cottrell
T.J. Bodie Tim Murphy Ethan Hourigan
Eddie Allen Robert Stack Kevin Daly
Subs: Ryan O'Keeffe, Kevin O'Connor, Owen Walsh, Tony O'Keeffe

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    U21 AHC
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors