Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2022 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Footballers strong team showing gains semi spot

The Newmarket footballers got the better of Naomh Abán on Saturday last, the 30th of October, to progress to the Bon Secours Premier Intermediate Football Championship semi finals.

Newmarket got off to a strong start with a brace of frees from Ryan O’Keeffe, as well as points from play from John Ryan and Conor O’Keeffe, to lead by four after ten minutes. Naomh Abán registered their first score of the contest soon after, but it was quickly cancelled out by TJ Brosnan, ensuring the Duhallow men lead 0-05 to 0-01, at the first water break. Soon after the resumption, the gap was reduced to just two, but the remainder of the half was dominated by Newmarket. Barry O’Connor opened his account on 20 minutes with Conor O’Keeffe added points from play and placed ball. Ryan O’Keeffe and Micheal Cottrell rounded off their side’s total for the period to ten points, a well earned seven point lead at the break.

The Muskerry side opened the scoring of the second half with points on 32 and 34 minutes. Newmarket replied through points from Cathal Browne, Conor O’Keeffe and Ryan O’Keeffe to lead 0-13 to 0-05, with twenty minutes remaining. The sides trades scores before the final water break, with midfielder Tim Murphy on target for Newmarket. After the restart, Michael Cottrell and Kevin O’Sullivan completed their side’s points total, to extend the advantage to ten. Naomh Abán responded with a score of their own on 50 minutes, but a fantastic Ryan O’Keeffe goal two minutes later, put the outcome beyond doubt. Naomh Abán continued to fight on, adding three late points, but Newmarket closed out a well deserved victory and a fine team performance, with nine different scorers contributing to the 1-16 to 0-10 win.

The Newmarket now move on to the semi final clash with Cill Na Martra, with a place in the final up for grabs. Áth Trasna Abú!

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Ryan O’Keeffe (1-04, 2f), Conor O’Keeffe (0-04, 2f), Michael Cottrell (0-02), Kevin O’Sullivan (0-01), Tim Murphy (0-01), TJ Brosnan (0-01), Cathal Browne (0-01), Barry O’Connor (0-01), John Ryan (0-01)

Josh O'Keeffe
Mikey Browne Alan Ryan Paudie Allen
Kevin O'Sullivan Gavin Forde Bart Daly
Mikey Cottrell Timothy Murphy
T. J. Brosnan Cathal Browne Barry O'Connor
Conor O'Keeffe Ryan O'Keeffe John Ryan
Subs: Darren O'Keeffe for John Ryan (49), David Cottrell for Tim Murphy (53), Jamie Hayes for TJ Brosnan (55), Colin O'Sullivan for Michael Cottrell (55)

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Venue:Pairc Ui Chaoimh
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors