Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Intermediate Footballers Progress to Tom Creedon Cup Final

Newmarket progress to their third consecutive Tom Creedon Cup Final after a 1-14 to 1-11 win over Cill Na Martra. The game was played Friday March 16th in Cloughduv.

The game began with both sets of defenders applying heavy pressure and neither team were able to split the posts in the opening minutes. On the eight minute Barry O’Connor was dragged down in the box and the resulting penalty was dispatched low to the net by Daniel Culloty. The game now began to open up and a brace from Darren O’Keeffe and Barry O’Connor had Newmarket leading on a score line of 1-04 to 0-03 after 23 minutes. Cill Na Martra kept plugging away at the Newmarket lead and only trailed on a score line of 1-06 to 0-07 at half time.

Newmarket began the second half brightly with two early scores coming from Daniel Culloty, however Cill Na Martra now began to show more fight and rattled the Newmarket nets on the 40 minute mark. They pushed on even further with three unanswered points and lead on a scoreline of 1-11 to 1-08. Newmarket never began to panic and with hard work around the middle third they began to settle again and two quick points from Kevin O’Sullivan and Daniel Culloty had Newmarket only trailing by a single point with 8 minutes of normal time remaining. O’Connor leveled the game on the fifty fifth minute, however with some great pressure coming from the Newmarket team they were always going to get another chance. With normal time almost up, Daniel Culloty sailed one over to put Newmarket in the lead. However that was not it. TJ Bodie won the resulting kick out and with his trusted left leg, he sailed one over from the right hand side of the pitch. O’Connor had the final say and scored with the last kick of the game and Newmarket came out victorious on a score line of 1-14 to 1-11.

Newmarket now progress to the Tom Creedon final.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Daniel Culloty (1-06, 1-02F), Barry O’Connor (0-04), Darren O’Keeffe (0-02), Kevin O’Sullivan (0-01) and TJ Bodie (0-01)

Josh O'Keeffe
Paudie Allen Aidan Browne Donnacha Fitzpatrick
Paddy Browne Bart Daly Gavin Forde
T. J. Brosnan Mikey Cottrell
Darren O'Keeffe Daniel Culloty Donal Hannon
Ryan O'Keeffe Kevin O'Sullivan Barry O'Connor
Subs: T.J. Bodie

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors