Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Emmets fail to sparkle in final

Robert Emmets went down in disappointing manner to a far superior Croke Rovers side, by 1-20 to 0-6 in the Duhallow Under 21 hurling final, played in at times appalling weather conditions at Tullylease on Saturday afternoon.

In a repeat final pairing from the previous year, the defending champions laid down a marker from the very outset. Despite a strong breeze and persistent showers which were at times torrential, Croke Rovers displayed superb skill and ability to make light of the poor conditions on an otherwise perfect playing pitch.

Two points were scored within the first minute as Croke Rovers began a relentless deluge towards the Robert Emmets goal. The lead was stretched to four before a ninth minute goal resulted and Croke Rovers had amassed a nine point lead by eleven minutes.

Robert Emmets struggled to make an impact as Donal Hannon eventually brought some brief reprieve on pointing a thirteenth minute free. Croke Rovers however despite valiant displays from Gavin Forde and Paudie Allen were in complete control.

Five successive points followed as the champions disappeared further out of sight with every minute. Robert Emmets finished the half in better fettle as Donal Hannon knocked over a trio of frees. Croke Rovers had the final score of an impressive first half showing which yielded a total of 1-12 and saw the concession of a mere 0-4.

Croke Rovers scored the first point of the second half with Donal Hannon replying for Robert Emmets. Conditions dictated that scoring would prove more difficult as the game progressed, but Croke Rovers natural scoring ability ensured they added to their tally at regular intervals while Robert Emmets toiled but with little reward on the scoreboard. Barry O’Connor did add a late point to the tally but a forgettable day for Robert Emmets ended with the outstanding champions completing proceedings with an additional two points.

The Robert Emmets team and scorers…

Donal Hannon (0-5), Barry O’Connor (0-1)

Shane McAuliffe
Eoin O'Connell Colm Noonan Daniel Richard Guinee
Michael Cottrell Paudie Allen Gavin Forde
Alan Ryan Cathal Noonan
Barry O'Connor Jacko Flaherty David Quinlan
Michael McSweeney Donal Hannon Damien O'Keeffe
Subs: Michael O’Leary, Nicky Barrett, Billy Lane

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors