Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket defeated in Nevin Cup

Newmarket were edged out by Boherbue in the Nevin Cup at the latter’s venue on Sunday afternoon, goals at crucial stages decisive to a 3-5 to 1-9 score line.

Newmarket playing into a stiff breeze, began brightly and this yielded early points on the scoreboard through a brace of converted Daniel Culloty frees. Boherbue were wayward in their shooting but also came up against a resilient Newmarket rearguard.

A well worked point involving Eddie Allen and Daniel Culloty which was converted by Niall O’Connor strengthened Newmarket’s position. However, all of the hard endeavour was wiped out in an instant as Boherbue burst forward on the break to net an equalizing goal midway through the half.

Newmarket maintained their level of performance as Daniel Culloty restored a narrow lead. Twenty four minutes into the half, Daniel Culloty did superbly to work his way in on goal on a powerful solo run which initiated on the sideline and he picked out Michael Kenneally who made no mistake in punching the inviting pass to the back of the Boherbue net.

Newmarket’s best period of the game culminated with another fantastic point. Mark Murphy overturned possession and quick inter passing involving Matthew Fitzpatrick and Niall O’Connor ended with Seanie Francis O’Connor pointing.

Enjoying a five point advantage, Newmarket were hit with a second sucker punch as Boherbue found the way to goal for a second time. The home side followed with a point but Newmarket still enjoyed a slender advantage of 1-5 to 2-1 at the turnover.

A Boherbue point three minutes into the second half, tied matters for a second time. Eleven minutes into the half Newmarket were rocked once more by a third Boherbue goal with a point added moments later. Another Boherbue point gave them a lead of five points entering the final quarter. At this stage Newmarket revived their challenge.

Though in contention, Newmarket were also culpable of erratic shooting in the second period. Daniel Culloty pointed twice in as many minutes to launch a comeback. Alan Ryan pointed sublimely from distance before a Daniel Culloty free cut the margin to a solitary point entering the final moments.

Boherbue mustered up one final attack which they crucially converted to seal victory in an entertaining contest.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Daniel Culloty (0-6), Michael Kenneally (1-0), Alan Ryan (0-1), Seanie Francis O’Connor (0-1), Niall O’Connor (0-1)

Shane McAuliffe
Michael O’Leary Anthony Crowley Donnacha Fitzpatrick
Gavin Forde Kevin O'Sullivan Alan Ryan
Mark Murphy Seanie Francis O Connor
Matthew Fitzpatrick Niall O’Connor Eddie Allen
Daniel Culloty Robert Stack Michael Kenneally
Subs: Barry O’Connor

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors