Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Footballers out of Duhallow Junior Football Championship

Newmarket bowed out of the Kanturk Credit Union Duhallow Junior Football Championship following a second round defeat to Boherbue by 1-18 to 0-8 at Kiskeam on Sunday night.

Newmarket’s task was dealt a double blow following the loss of both John Cronin and Gavin Forde prior to the throw in. Niall O’Connor, more renowned as a top class goalkeeper, found himself lining out at centre half forward and he began a most accomplished display by converting a third minute free.

Boherbue levelled through similar means and indiscretions in the Newmarket defence were punished with another two converted frees by the tenth minute. Niall O’Connor pointed for a second time on clipping the ball over the bar as reward for a promising opening quarter from Newmarket, with midfield competing well and Robert Stack a stand out performer all night in attack.

Boherbue enjoyed a period of dominance in the second quarter as the Newmarket defence came under increasing pressure. Three Boherbue points followed by the twentieth minute and they proceeded to rack up the points with another four stretching their lead to a sizeable eight points.

Newmarket finished the half with Niall O’Connor accurate from two frees as conditions deteriorated with a spell of rain showers but a late Boherbue point gave them an advantage of 0-11 to 0-4 at the midway point.

Newmarket began the second half with renewed enthusiasm. Eddie Allen pointed in the second minute following some good teamwork, while Robert Stack continued to excel and deservedly pointed after seven minutes. Newmarket failed to capitalize further despite their endeavour with Michael Kenneally and Mark Murphy prominent figures.

Boherbue added two points within a minute before a Niall O’Connor point left the score at 0-13 to 0-7 midway through the half. Boherbue put the game beyond Newmarket moments later as they struck for the games only goal and buoyed by this significant score another quartet of points confirmed their supremacy.

The sides traded points before the finish as Niall O’Connor added his sixth point of the night, but a gallant Newmarket side had to relent as Boherbue progressed to the quarter finals.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Niall O’Connor (0-6), Eddie Allen (0-1), Robert Stack (0-1)

Shane McAuliffe
Michael O’Leary Stephen Stokes Anthony Crowley
Alan Ryan Michael Kenneally Matthew Fitzpatrick
Brendan Stack Mark Murphy
Eddie Allen Niall O’Connor Jacko Flaherty
Shane Murphy Robert Stack Barry O'Connor
Subs: Donnacha Fitzpatrick, Jack Birtley, Luke McCarthy, Kieran Lehane

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors