Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Minors advance to second round

Newmarket advanced past the first round of the North Cork Minor B Football Championship following a most comprehensive victory over Kilworth by 1-17 to 0-3 at Buttevant on Thursday evening.

Newmarket were quick off the mark and settled on a couple of points within two minutes through a Gavin Forde free and Jonathan Flaherty. Kilworth pointed in the third minute but Newmarket swept forward in droves with Jonathan Flaherty and Barry O’Connor adding points by the seventh minute.

Despite several opportunities and close misses, what proved to be the only goal of the game arrived in the eleventh minute. Donal Hannon delivered a long ball forward towards the left hand sideline which was gathered by Daniel Culloty. He in turn did superbly to engineer an opening following a run in along the sideline and endline to find Barry O’Connor and the full forward made no mistake in finding the net past a crowd of players. Barry O’Connor returned the favour a minute later in creating an opening for Daniel Culloty who in turn pointed in fine fashion. The same duo added to their tally as Newmarket built up a 1-7 to 0-1 advantage midway through the half.

Newmarket dominated and though the scoring rate inevitably dipped, the dynamic Barry O’Connor was prolific and on target once again in the twenty third minute. Gavin Forde added a fine point before Kilworth added a point late in the half.

Fittingly, Barry O’Connor completed the scoring for the half with Newmarket in a comfortable lead of 1-10 to 0-2 at the halfway mark.

Newmarket resumed where they left off, as again the same duo of Gavin Forde and Jonathan Flaherty repeated their feat of the first half in pointing within minutes of the throw in. Kilworth pointed in the sixth minute but Gavin Forde answered with a point from a free.

A Newmarket rearguard that was well in control conceded a penalty in the next phase of play, but goalkeeper Shane McAuliffe was equal to the kick to keep his goal in tact. The game petered out at this stage as Barry O’Connor pointed either side of a Gavin Forde free to stretch the lead by the end of the third quarter.

One point followed in the remainder of the game as Barry O’Connor brought his personal tally to 1-7 and Newmarket progressed in style to the next round.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Barry O’Connor (1-7), Gavin Forde (0-5), Jonathan Flaherty (0-3), Daniel Culloty (0-2).

Shane McAuliffe
Eoin O'Connell Jamie Hayes Damien O'Keeffe
Daniel O'Doherty Donal Hannon Paudie Allen
Alan Ryan Michael Cottrell
Peter Lynch Jacko Flaherty Gavin Forde
Danny O'Connell Barry O'Connor Daniel Culloty
Subs: Conor O’Keeffe, Donncadha Drumm

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors