Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket minor footballers denied at the death

Newmarket’s minor footballers were denied at the death after a thrilling conclusion to their championship clash with Boherbue on Tuesday evening at Kiskeam which ended 2-7 to 0-11.

Boherbue took an early lead within the opening minute but Darren O’Keeffe had the teams on level terms a minute later thanks to a fine effort from distance. Darren O’Keeffe converted a free but Boherbue were on terms in the thirteenth minute. Newmarket gained the upper hand and were rewarded with points from Eddie Allen, Nicky Barrett and Gavin Forde. The sides exchanged points before the interval with Darren O’Keeffe on target for Newmarket who enjoyed a 0-6 to 0-3 lead at the turnover.

Boherbue resumed the stronger side gaining an early point. Billy Lane surged forward to find the target for Newmarket but Boherbue reduced the arrears thanks to two points. At the end of the third quarter Boherbue struck for a goal to take the lead, 1-6 to 0-7. This propelled Newmarket to produce their best football of the hour. T.J. Brosnan added a point and Newmarket were superb in all sectors; however their finishing left them down as a succession of chances went a begging.

Newmarket eventually found the range with an equalizing point thanks to a superb score from T.J. Brosnan and he followed this up with an even better score a minute later. Timmy O’Keeffe scored a fine individual score which was Newmarket’s fifth point in succession as they gained a two point lead in the early stages of injury time. However, Newmarket were cruelly denied within seconds when Boherbue raced through the field and despite a wonderful save from Newmarket goalkeeper David Quinlan a penalty was awarded in the resultant passage of play and it was coolly slotted to the corner of the net. There was still time for Boherbue to add another point as they sealed the contest.

The Newmarket team was…

David Quinlan
  Con McAuliffe   Jack Birtley  
Billy Lane   Michael Lane   David Enright
  T.J. Brosnan (0-3)   Darren O’Keeffe (0-3)  
Eddie Allen (0-1)   Gavin Forde (0-1)   Nicky Barrett (0-1)
  Timmy O’Keeffe (0-1)   Luke McCarthy  
SUBS:  Conor Keppel, Vincent Molloy

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors