Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket junior B hurlers claim first victory of the season

Newmarket’s junior B hurlers claimed their first victory of the season when they defeated Lismire at the latter’s venue on Thursday evening last by 3-6 to 0-7, this despite being very wasteful in scoring positions throughout the hour.

After a slow start in difficult greasy conditions it was Lismire who pointed first in the eighth minute with Shane Murphy equalizing for Newmarket within a minute. Newmarket saw several chances go a begging and drop short while a more clinical Lismire added two points. Newmarket’s challenge received a fillip in the seventeenth minute when Paul Verling was well placed to receive a pass and the very impressive corner forward finished with aplomb to the bottom corner of the net for Newmarket’s first goal. The industrious Robert Stack who was prominent throughout, enhanced Newmarket’s advantage when he was on hand to gather possession and he too found the corner of the net just two minutes later. Colin O’Sullilvan added a point from distance before a Lismire point cut the arrears to 2-2 to 0-4. Newmarket had their third goal of the half when a Donnacha O’Dea free found the net before two Lismire points left the score at half time 3-2 to 0-6 in Newmarket’s favour.

The conditions impacted on the striking of the sides in the second half as scores proved difficult for both sides. Both defences were resolute with Newmarket’s rearguard in fine form throughout where Brendan Stack excelled for the hour. Shane Murphy had the first point of the half in the second minute. Only two points were scored in the next twenty minutes despite plenty of endeavour from both sides but once more it was Newmarket who squandered the better chances where they hit nineteen wides during the game while the Lismire goalkeeper was also on hand to make a number of fine saves. Fittingly enough the two scores that did register came courtesy of the excellent play of Paul Verling. Lismire added a point before Shane Murphy completed the scoring stakes in the closing minutes from Newmarket’s solitary score from a free.

The Newmarket team was…

Kieran Hayes
William O’Flynn    John McSweeney   David Kelly
Brendan Stack   Pa O’Brien   Michael Kenneally
  Donnacha O’Dea (1-0)   Timothy Murphy  
Colin O’Sullivan (0-1)   Robert Stack (1-0)   Bryan O’Connell
Paul Verling (1-2)   Shane Murphy (0-3)   Sean Irwin
SUB: Billy Daly

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors