Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2024 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket hurlers defeated by Meelin in League

Newmarket commenced their junior hurling league campaign with defeat away to Meelin on Friday evening by 2-18 to 0-8.

Newmarket took the lead when Kevin O’Sullivan landed the opening point within a minute from a free. Shane Murphy added a second for Newmarket before Meelin opened their account in the sixth minute and quickly knocked over another three points within the first ten minutes. The sides exchanged points in the next thirteen minutes with Shane Murphy once more finding the target for Newmarket. Meelin finished the half in the ascendancy and three points in succession gave them an interval lead of 0-8 to 0-4.

Meelin resumed the stronger quickly adding two points within the opening minutes of the half. Shane Anthony Murphy pointed for Newmarket but Meelin increased their advantage with two further scores. Colin O’Sullivan was on target from a long distance free but Meelin responded with a point and significantly the games opening goal to take a commanding 1-14 to 0-6 advantage. Kevin O’Sullivan pointed next but Meelin dominated and added a further goal and three points. Kevin O’Sullivan registered Newmarket’s final score but Meelin were clear victors long before the finish.
The Newmarket team was…

John Ryan
Donnacha Fitzpatrick   Brian Daly   John Scanlon
Nicky Flanagan   John McSweeney   Conor Cronin
  Kevin O’Sullivan (0-4)   Colin O’Sullivan (0-1)  
Shane Anthony Murphy (0-1)   Shane Murphy (0-2)   John Lane
Donnacha O’Dea   Robert Stack   Tony O’Keeffe
SUBS: Michael Kenneally, Sean Irwin, Micheal Murphy

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 3 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors