Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket lose minor league final

The Newmarket Minors lost to Boherbue in the league final played last Saturday in Boherbue on a score line of 2-4 to 7 points. The final was played in atrocious conditions in Boherbue on a wet and windy day which had a damper on the football.

The game began with Newmarket registering the first three points of the game, all frees from Ian Flanagan, Conor Cronin and Brian O’ Connell. At the first quarter stage Newmarket led 3 points to nil but Boherbue struck back on seventeen minutes with a goal to the top corner from ten yards levelling the sides. Boherbue gained the momentum then and followed up with 2 more points. With two minutes to half time Conor Cronin pointed with a fine long range free to come to within a point of Boherbue. On the stroke of half time Boherbue hit back with another goal, this time from inside the small square to lead at half time by 2-1 to 4 points. It wasn’t a true reflection on the possession Newmarket had to go in losing by 4 points.

The second half began with an Ian Flanagan free on thirty four minutes. Boherbue replied with a point on forty minutes. With underfoot conditions getting worse and ball handling errors becoming more of an issue scores were hard to come by. With ten minutes to go Brian O’ Connell pointed from a placed ball but once again Boherbue replied two minutes later with another point. With Newmarket behind by four points with only three minutes remaining, it became evident they would need a goal. Brian O’ Connell scored what was to be the final score of the game from another placed ball.  Newmarket applied great pressure to the Boherbue defence who defended resolutely at the end of the game. There was no sign of this Newmarket team giving up and they never gave in towards the end of the game. They were luckless as they could not find the breakthrough and Boherbue claimed the title completing a league and Championship double in the B grade with a 2-4 to 7 point win.

Newmarket gave a great account of themselves and can be proud of their effort. They were unlucky not to have at least drawn the game. On the day, their was some fine individual performances namely, Brendan Stack, Alan Forde and Conor Cronin who all had fine games.

The Newmarket team was…

David Quinlan
Michael O’Leary Brendan Stack
Andy Twomey Anthony Lynch Alan Forde
Conor Cronin (0-2) Ian Flanagan (0-2)
Paul Verling Brian O’ Connell (0-3) Eddie Allen
Billy Lane Kieran Lehane
Subs: David Enright, Jack Birthley, Nicky Barrett, Luke McCarthy

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors