Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2024 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket record second successive victory in the junior B hurling league

Newmarket maintained their terrific start to the junior B hurling league when they recorded their second successive victory at home to Meelin on Thursday evening by 3-13 to 4-8 in a keenly contested game.

Meelin got off to the best possible start by finding the net within the very first minute. Robert Stack got Newmarket off the mark with a sixth minute point before Ian Flanagan was instrumental in setting up David Buckley and he showed fine composure in finishing to the net. Ian Flanagan and Robert Stack added points before Meelin’s first point left the score 1-3 to 1-1 in Newmarket’s favour at the end of the first quarter.

A couple of Meelin points tied the sides for the first time before Ian Flanagan slotted over a free for Newmarket. Meelin regained the lead after gaining their second goal of the evening but Ian Flanagan was on target from placed balls either side of a Meelin point to restore parity late in the half. Newmarket’s hopes received a major boost when amazingly they struck for two goals just prior to the interval. The outstanding Ian Flanagan crashed the ball to the net from a close in free before David Buckley was on hand to claim his second goal of the half. This gave Newmarket a clear advantage at the break by 3-7 to 2-4.

As in the first half, Meelin struck for an early goal but Colin O’Sullivan and Seanie Francis O’Connor added points from distance for Newmarket. Meelin cut the deficit by adding two points while Ian Flanagan maintained his prolific form with his first point of the half. Meelin’s fourth goal at the end of the third quarter reduced the arrears to a solitary point 3-10 to 4-6. Two more Ian Flanagan points kept Newmarket in front but once more Meelin got to within a point thanks to two unanswered points. An exciting climax developed with the final score of the game coming courtesy of a fine point from distance from Timothy Murphy and Newmarket’s defence withstood a strong Meelin challenge to hang on for victory.

The Newmarket team was…

Eamon Moynihan
William O’Flynn John Scanlon David Kelly
Kieran Hayes Anthony Crowley T.J. Bodie
Colin O’Sullivan (0-1) Seanie Francis O’Connor (0-1)
Timothy Murphy (0-1) Robert Stack (0-2) Ian Flanagan (1-8)
David Buckley (2-0) Martin O’Doherty Damien Kelly

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 3 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors