Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket record facile victory in intermediate football league

Newmarket overwhelmed a hugely disappointing Youghal side in the intermediate football league played at Mourne Abbey on Tuesday evening, recording a mammouth 3-19 to 1-1 victory.

T.J. Bodie set the tone when converting a second minute free with John Lane, Tony O’Keeffe and Timothy Murphy adding to the total as Newmarket impressed. In the twelveth minute, another attack forward saw Barry O’Leary place a sublime defence splitting ball into the path of John Lane and he duly finished with aplomb to the back of the net. Shane Anthony Murphy slotted over another point before Youghal scored a goal at the end of the opening quarter. Newmarket were not deterred with Shane Anthony Murphy quickly replying with a point. The lively Tony O’Keeffe was upended as he closed in on goal in the twenty fourth minute and Brian O’Riordan slotted the resultant penalty with style into the bottom corner of the net. A bubbling Newmarket kept up their dominance and points resulted from T.J. Bodie, Tony O’Keeffe twice, and Denys O’Brien to clock up a very impressive tally of 2-10 at half time.

Newmarket did not relent after the break, Barry O’Leary surged forward to fist a point in the second minute. T.J. Bodie added another before Sean Doody landed a spectacular point from distance. The unerring Tony O’Keeffe pointed again before John Lane pounced for Newmarket’s third goal of the night. T.J. Bodie and John Lane added points before Youghal scored a point. Newmarket rounded off their resounding win with more points from Tony O’Keeffe, T.J. Bodie and John Lane.

The Newmarket team was…

Tadhg O’Sullivan
Pa O’Brien John McSweeney Mark Murphy
Brian O’Riordan (1-0) Barry O’Leary (0-1) Mark Reidy
Denys O’Brien (0-1) Timothy Murphy (0-1)
T.J. Bodie (0-5) Shane Anthony Murphy (0-2) David O’Flynn
Maurice Feehan John Lane (2-3) Tony O’Keeffe (0-5)
SUBS: Sean Doody (0-1), Kevin O’Sullivan, Seanie Francis O’Connor, Gerard Casey, Colin O’Sullivan

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors