Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket Claim victory in Ducon Cup

Newmarket claimed their first victory in this years Ducon Cup when they recorded a fine victory over Boherbue by 0-10 to 0-6 at the latters venue, on a fine crisp Sunday afternoon.

Newmarket playing with the aid of quite a strong breeze had to wait until the eighth minute to get off the mark with John Ryan slotting over a free. Shane Anthony Murphy scored a fine point from a difficult angle before Boherbue opened their account with a thirteenth minute point. Newmarket began to dominate at this stage and Maurice Feehan kicked two impressive points. Shane Murphy added another excellent point from long range as Newmarket increased their lead. Newmarket were however, also guilty of missing a number of other scoring opportunities and had a succession of wides during the half. Newmarkets good first half display was further enhanced by a brace of points from John Ryan before the break as they turned over in front by 0-7 to 0-1.

Boherbue resumed with the wind at their backs and tried hard to get back into the game. They added two points in ten minutes as Newmarket withstood a succession of Boherbue pressure. Nicky Flanagan scored a much needed point for Newmarket when a converted a free after forty three minutes. Boherbue maintained their challenge and two further points reduced the deficit to just three points, while Newmarket survived another couple of shaky moments to maintain their advantage. Newmarket were boosted when a fine move swept the team forward and Shane Anthony Murphy kicked a point to lift his side with five minutes remaining. Boherbue pointed next but Nicky Flanagan was on hand to convert a late free and clinch the points for Newmarket.

The Newmarket team was…

Niall O’Connor
Brian O’Riordan Mark Murphy Brian Daly
Conor Cronin Kevin O’Sullivan Robert Stack
Gerard Casey Colin O’Sullivan
Maurice Feehan (0-2) Shane Anthony Murphy (0-2) Sean Doody
John Ryan (0-3) Nicky Flanagan (0-2) Shane Murphy (0-1)

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors