Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Minor footballers win high scoring contest

Newmarket and Boherbue provided a pulsating minor football league game at Newmarket on Thursday evening when the home side emerged from a high scoring contest to claim their first league victory by 4-11 to 4-6.

The game got off to an amazing start. Boherbue hit the net in the third minute with John Lane equalling the feat within two minutes. Incredibly, Boherbue hit the third goal of the game in the sixth minute. John Lane and Eugene Bodie then had points for Newmarket before John Lane struck for his second goal at the end of the opening quarter to leave the score 2-2 to 2-0. Newmarket enjoyed a period of dominance and were rewarded through points by John Ryan, Bryan O’Connell and Eddie Allen before Bryan O’Connell hit yet another goal in the twenty third minute. Newmarket continued to impress with further points from John Ryan twice and Bryan O’Connell. Boherbue ended a long period without a score with a late point and this left the half time score 3-8 to 2-1.

Boherbue resumed with a goal within a minute of the restart and this fuelled a revival. They completely dominated the third quarter and attacked Newmarkets defence with wave after wave of attack and Newmarket goalkeeper Ian Flanagan had to be at his best on a number of occasions. Boherbue scored four points in this period and by the three quarter stage the deficit was down to three points, 3-8 to 3-5. Newmarket under intense pressure, managed to surge forward and a fine free flowing move ended with Eddie Allen on hand to score his sides fourth goal. A resurgent Newmarket then added points through Liam O’Callaghan and John Ryan. Boherbue refused to wilt and soon added a point and then their fourth goal. This amazing contest conclude when Eddie Allen pointed as Newmarket eventually sealed the points.

The Newmarket team was…

Ian Flanagan
Andy Twomey Robert Stack Damien Kelly
Danny Allen Paul Cashman Brendan Stack
John Ryan (0-4) Conor Cronin
Bryan O’Connell (1-2) John Lane (2-1) Alan Forde
Liam O’Callaghan (0-1) Eugene Bodie (0-1) Eddie Allen (1-2)

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors