Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2024 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket fall to strong Kanturk side

The under 21 hurlers of Newmarket were outscored by the a strong Kanturk side on Sunday night in the Duhallow decider.

While Newmarket created and converted plenty scoring opportunities in the first half through Rory Lynn (2), Hugh O’Connor (6), Mikey Browne and Brion O’Keeffe, Kanturk held a convincing seven point lead at the break. Newmarket reduced the arrears to six on a number of occasions in the second half with scores from Rory O’Keeffe, Hugh O’Connor (2) and Paudie O’Sullivan in the third quarter. A further brace by O’Connor on 48 minutes again left six between the sides entering the last ten minutes. Kanturk found another gear in the closing stages, outscoring Newmarket by 2-06 to two points, with Newmarket’s points coming from O’Connor. As the final whistle blew in Banteer, Kanturk were confirmed as champions on a scoreline of 0-19 to 2-29. Commiserations to Newmarket who battled all the way and congratulations to Kanturk on their win.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Hugh O’Connor (0-13, 10f, 1×65), Rory Lynn (0-03), Mikey Browne (0-01), Brion O’Keeffe (0-01), Paudie O’Sullivan (0-01).

Dara Weathers
Eoin Walsh Jack O'Connor Michael Lane
Eoin Goggin David Cottrell Ethan Hourigan
Hugh O'Connor Mikey Browne
Brion O'Keeffe Paudie O'Sullivan Kevin Daly
Gavin Fleming Rory Lynn Pete Goggin
Subs: Aidan Buckley, Graham Cottrell

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Ducon Cup
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors