Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2024 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Strong opening half secures Emmet’s win

Robert Emmets had too much fire power for Sliabh Luachra Gaels on Saturday afternoon, in the opening round of the Duhallow 21 football championship.

Playing on the all weather surface in Banteer, the Newmarket and Lismire combination dominated the early scoring, leading 4-04 to a point at the quarter hour stage. Hugh O’Connor got the first of his two goals on seven minutes, with the second coming four minutes later. Cian O’Sullian registered Emmet’s third on fourteen, with Rory Lynn finishing his effort to the Sliabh Luachra net soon after. Paudie O’Sullivan was on target too during the period with a brace of points, with the other scores coming from an O’Connor free and a Dave Cottrell shot on target. Emmet’s keep the scoreboard ticking over for the remainder of the half, with Cian O’Sullivan (2), Hugh O’Connor (2) and Eamonn Hayes ensuring the side went into the break 4-09 to 0-05 ahead and looking good for the opening win.

To their credit, the Ballydesmond and Kiskeam amalgamation began to find more opportunities in the second half and trailed 4-13 to 0-08 at the three quarters mark, with Mikey Browne, Jack Sheehan, Eamon Hayes and Brion O’Keeffe on target for Emmets. Pete Goggin opened his account on 47 minutes with Sliabh Luachra replying with their only goal of the game moments later. A follow up point left the Banteer scoreboard reading 4-14 to 1-09, as the game entered the final ten minutes. Emmet’s removed any ideas of a comeback hitting 1-02 without reply through points from Jack Sheahan and Pete Goggin, with Dara Weathers netting the goal. Sliabh Luachra completed the afternoon’s scoring with a late brace, as Robert Emmets ran out comfortable 5-16 to 1-11 victors on the day.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Hugh O’Connor (2-03, 1f), Cian O’Sullivan (1-02), Rory Lynn (1-00), Dara Weathers (1-00), Jack Sheahan (0-02), Pete Goggin (0-02), Paudie O’Sullivan (0-02), Eamonn Hayes (0-02), Mikey Browne (0-01), Dave Cottrell (0-01), Brion O’Keeffe (0-01).

Kevin Daly
Sean Murphy Michael Lane
Stephen Burke Eamon Hayes Mikey Browne
David Cottrell
Daragh O'Keeffe Paudie O'Sullivan Cian O'Sullivan
Rory Lynn Hugh O'Connor
Subs: Dara Weathers, Jack Sheahan, Conor Sheahan, Brion O'Keeffe, Pete Goggin, Gavin Fleming

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Ducon Cup
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors