Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2024 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Brave Junior Bs undone by strong Douglas side

Newmarket’s Junior B hurlers fell to a strong Douglas outfit on Sunday afternoon at Banteer, in the county quarter final.

The Duhallow champions kept close to the fancied Seandún side during the early stages, through the free taking accuracy of Paul Verling. At the twenty minute mark Newmarket trailed 0-05 to 0-08, with Verling registering four frees and a 65. Douglas began to take control of the scoreboard with three quick unanswered points. A point from play from full-forward Darragh Lynn on 26 minutes reduced the deficit to five. A free from goalkeeper Ben Newman four minutes later cancelled out an earlier Douglas effort, but the city side found time for one more score, as they led 0-07 to 0-13 at the break.

Douglas claimed the first two scores of the second period, with Michael Lane contributing to Newmarket’s tally. The city side continued to find opportunities and by the time Paul Verling had registered a brace of second half frees, Douglas held a controlling 0-10 to 0-21 advantage. They added a goal to their account on 51 minutes, with Newmarket replying with a goal of their own a minute later through David Cottrell. Douglas converted another four points in the closing stages to win out, 1-10 to 1-25.

Commiserations to the Newmarket team and backroom staff who met tough opposition on the night, but they can look back on 2023 as a very successful divisional league and championship winning year.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Paul Verling (0-07, 6f, 1×65), Darragh Lynn (1-01), Ben Newman (0-01, 1f), Michael Lane (0-01)

Ben Newman
Sean Murphy Brendan Stack Eoin Walsh
Michael Lane Stephen Stokes David Cottrell
Eddie Allen Nicky Barrett
Paudie O'Sullivan Niall Collins Peter Goggin
Tony O'Keeffe Darragh Lynn Paul Verling
Subs: Aaron O'Callaghan, Michael O'Leary, Bryan O'Connell

Panel: Ethan Hourigan, Pa O’Brien, Robert Stack, Michael Kenneally

Management: Eamon Moynihan, Seán Irwin, Stephen Stokes

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Ducon Cup
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors