Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2024 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Under 21 Hurlers Win Dramatic Decider

The under 21 hurlers capped off a memorable week for the club by defeating St. Marks in the Duhallow B final on Saturday last.

A strong opening quarter put Newmarket in good stead as they led 2-04 to 0-02 at the quarter hour mark, with points coming from Pete Goggin, Paudie O’Sullivan and Hugh O’Connor as well as an opening goal from full forward Rory Lynn and 1-01 from corner forward Brion O’Keeffe. Newmarket continued to dominate the scoring with Hugh O’Connor (3), Pete Goggin and Rory Lynn on target to give the side a strong 2-09 to 0-04 advantage at the break.

St. Marks got off to the perfect start after the resumption, scoring 2-03 in the opening ten minutes with a Hugh O’Connor brace adding to Newmarket’s total over the same period. Trailing by four points, St. Marks continued to reduce the deficit and levelled the contest on fifty minutes. Newmarket regained the lead through a Hugh O’Connor free, which was quickly followed up by a Paudie O’Sullivan point. An O’Connor goal a minute later looked to have done enough for Newmarket but St. Marks were not finished yet. A 65 followed up by a free put three between the sides and St. Marks equalised again, with their third goal on 58 minutes. A frantic closing few minutes continued as a Hugh O’Connor brace wrestled control back, with Newmarket ahead 3-15 to 3-14 on 62 minutes. Full forward Rory Lynn finally sealed the result with his second goal and despite a late point from St. Marks, Newmarket secured the honours 4-15 to 3-15.

After the match captain Mikey Browne accepted the cup on behalf of his team and mentors Eamon Moynihan, Nicky Barrett, Mikey Kenneally, Mikey O’Leary and Seán Irwin. The result rounded off a fantastic week for the club, with the Junior A and B hurling titles already secured. Congratulations to all involved.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Hugh O’Connor (1-09, 5f), Rory Lynn (2-01), Brion O’Keeffe (1-01), Paudie O’Sullivan (0-02), Pete Goggin (0-02)

Dara Weathers
Eoin Walsh Michael Lane Sean Murphy
Ethan Hourigan Mikey Browne David Cottrell
Hugh O'Connor Jack O'Connor
Eoin Goggin Kevin Daly Paudie O'Sullivan
Brion O'Keeffe Rory Lynn Peter Goggin
Subs: Graham Cottrell, Gavin Fleming

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 3 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors