Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2024 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Junior B’s Claim Hurling Championship

Newmarket’s Junior B hurlers completed an impressive double double for the club on Thursday evening when they defeated Dromtarriffe by four points, to add the Junior B championship to league honours, with the Junior A titles already secured.




A tight opening quarter saw just a point separate the sides with Ethan Hourigan, Gavin Forde (2), Robert Stack and Colin O’Sullivan on target for Newmarket, as they led 0-05 to 0-04. Dromtarriffe levelled the match on 21 minutes and pushed ahead six minutes later. A Gavin Forde free at the half hour mark brought parity to the sides, with a Kevin Daly free cancelling out a Dromtarriffe score, leaving nothing between the teams at the break.

A strong opening ten from Newmarket went a long way to securing the title, rattling off seven unanswered points through Paudie O’Sullivan, Gavin Forde (4), Kevin Daly and Jack O’Connor. Dromtarriffe reduced the arrears to five with a 65 and a free as the game entered the final stages. Points from Kevin O’Sullivan, Niall Collins and a Gavin Forde free completed Newmarket’s total with two minutes of normal time remaining. Dromtarriffe registered a goal and a point in the last moments but it wasn’t enough as Newmarket ran out 0-17 to 1-10 winners, with captain Donnacha Fitzpatrick accepting the cup on behalf his team and the club after the game. Congratulations to the players and management of Eamon Moynihan and Seán Irwin on another great win.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Gavin Forde (0-08, 4f, 1×65), Kevin Daly (0-02, 1f), Ethan Hourigan (0-01), Jack O’Connor (0-01), Paudie O’Sullivan (0-01), Kevin O’Sullivan (0-01), Colin O’Sullivan (0-01), Robert Stack (0-01), Niall Collins (0-01)

Ben Newman
Donnacha Fitzpatrick Michael Lane Eoin Walsh
Ethan Hourigan David Cottrell Daniel Norton
Gavin Forde Jack O'Connor
Paudie O'Sullivan Kevin O'Sullivan Colin O'Sullivan
Nicky Barrett Robert Stack Kevin Daly
Subs: Niall Collins for Nicky Barrett, Seán Murphy for Eoin Walsh, Pete Goggin for Paudie O'Sullivan, Paul Verling for Robert Stack, Eddie Allen for Ethan Hourigan


Panel: Tadhg Ryan, Stephen Stokes, Brendan Stack, Aaron O’Callaghan, Jamie Hayes

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 3 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors