Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2024 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Junior B’s claim Singleton Cup

Newmarket’s Junior B hurlers claimed the league title and with it, the Singleton Cup on Tuesday evening, the 22nd of August.

Taking on Meelin for the crown, the eventual winners started strong, scoring 2-02 inside the first ten minutes, through goals from Paddy Browne and Hugh O’Connor, with points coming from Donal Hannon and Kevin O’Sullivan. Newmarket continued to dominate at the Tullylease venue and led 2-05 to 0-04 on 25 minutes, with further scores from O’Connor, Browne and Hannon. A late O’Connor point was followed up by an injury time Hannon free to give Newmarket a comfortable 2-07 to 0-04 advantage at the break.

Kevin Daly got off the mark with a free soon after the resumption, with Donal Hannon registering another a few minutes later. A 42nd minute point from Kevin O’Sullivan was quickly followed up by a Hugh O’Connor goal, to all but seal Meelin’s fate, as they trailed by fourteen points entering the last quarter. Undeterred, Meelin rattled off the next four scores, with Newmarket responding through Robert Stack. Substitute Ethan Hourigan was on target on 58 minutes, with a sweetly struck Nicky Barrett score two minutes into added time, completing his side’s scoring. Meelin converted the final opportunity of the match, but the 3-13 to 0-13 result was never really in doubt. After the game winning captain Daniel Norton received the cup on behalf of his teammates and mentors Seán Irwin and Eamon Moynihan. Congratulations to all involved on a great win.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Hugh 0’Connor (2-02), Paddy Browne (1-01), Donal Hannon (0-04, 3f), Kevin O’Sullivan (0-02), Kevin Daly (0-01, 1f), Robert Stack (0-01), Ethan Hourigan (0-01), Nicky Barrett (0-01)

Shane McAuliffe
Donnacha Fitzpatrick Michael Lane Daniel Norton
David Cottrell Josh O'Keeffe Gavin Forde
Jack O'Connor John Ryan
Colin O'Sullivan Kevin O'Sullivan Paddy Browne
Donal Hannon Hugh O'Connor Kevin Daly
Subs: subs: Rober Stack (0-01) for Hugh O'Connor (44), Paudie O'Sullivan for Donal Hannon (44), Ethan Hourigan (0-01) for Jack O'Connor (44), Nicky Barrett (0-01) for Colin O'Sullivan (49), Eoin Walsh for David Cottrell (49), Brendan Stack for Gavin Forde (52), Peter Goggin for John Ryan (58), Seán Murphy for Donnacha Fitzpatrick (58), Eddie Allen for Kevin Daly (58)

Panel: Aidan Browne, Niall Collins, Jamie Hayes, Paul Verling, Stephen Stokes

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Ducon Cup
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors