Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2024 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Junior Bs hold on against Dromtarriffe

The Junior B hurlers hosted Dromtarriffe on Monday the 26th of June, with the home side having the brighter of the starts.

Scores from Gavin Forde (2), Colin O’Sullivan, Paul Verling and Paudie O’Sullivan gave Newmarket a 0-05 to 0-01 lead after ten minutes. Three points in a row from the visitors narrowed the gap to just one at the quarter hour mark. A Paddy Browne score followed by a Paul Verling free gave the hosts a three point advantage with eight minutes to play in the period. Late scores from Dromtarriffe nibbled away at the scoreboard and the sides entered the dressing rooms level at the break.

A busy opening ten minutes to the second half saw Newmarket restore their three point lead through scores from Gavin Forde (2), brothers Colin and Kevin O’Sullivan and full forward Robert Stack. A Forde free on 48 minutes maintained the position, but the sides were level moments later when Dromtariffe finished a goal opportunity to the Newmarket net. A brace of frees from Forde re-established his side’s position and despite a late score from Dromtarriffe, the hosts held out for a hard fought 0-15 to 1-11 victory.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Gavin Forde (0-07, 6f), Colin 0’Sullivan (0-02), Paul Verling (0-02, 2f), Paddy Browne (0-01), Paudie O’Sullivan (0-01), Robert Stack (0-01), Kevin O’Sullivan (0-01).

Shane McAuliffe
Donnacha Fitzpatrick Josh O'Keeffe Eoin Walsh
Daniel Norton Gavin Forde David Cottrell
Ethan Hourigan Eddie Allen
Paddy Browne Paudie O'Sullivan Colin O'Sullivan
Kevin Daly Robert Stack Paul Verling
Subs: Kevin O'Sullivan, Peter Goggin

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 3 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors