Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2024 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Hurlers retain league after close contest

The Junior hurlers of Newmarket were pushed all the way by Banteer on Thursday last, as they retained their league crown for another year.

Banteer were the first to score, with Newmarket replying through a free, a 65 and a point from Donal Hannon. The sides were level again on 10 minutes, with Banteer regaining the lead two minutes later. Mikey Browne brought parity to the contest with Barry O’Connor Newmarket pushing ahead at the quarter hour stage. The key score of the first half came on 20 minutes when Rory Lynn finished to the opposition net. Further scores from Hugh O’Connor and Donal Hannon gave the reigning champions a six point lead, with Banteer finding the next two points. As the half drew to a close, the sides exchanged scores with O’Connor and Cathal Browne handing Newmarket a 1-09 to 0-07 advantage at the break.

A pair of Donal Hannon frees early in the second half cancelled out Banteer points, with Hugh O’Connor restoring Newmarket’s six point cushion on 40 minutes. A Cathal Browne score moments later maintained the gap, with Banteer continuing to chase. They successfully reduced the arrears to a puck of ball entering the last ten minutes, as they trailed 1-14 to 0-14. A 65 from Hannon along with points from Darren O’Keeffe and Rory Lynn looked to have confirmed the result in Newmarket’s favour, but a quick fire 1-01 from Banteer on 58 minutes put a single point between the sides. Credit to Newmarket, they weathered the storm, finding the last two scores through Hugh O’Connor and Donal Hannon, to defend their title on a scoreline of 1-19 to 1-16. Commiserations to Banteer who never gave up and congratulations to the Newmarket players and management of Seán Irwin, Stephen Stokes, DJ O’Sullivan and Neilie McCarthy. Áth Trasna Abú!

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Donal Hannon (0-09, 6f, 2×65), Hugh O’Connor (0-04), Rory Lynn (1-01), Cathal Browne (0-02), Darren O’Keeffe (0-01), Mikey Browne (0-01), Barry O’Connor (0-01).

Shane McAuliffe
Donnacha Fitzpatrick Josh O'Keeffe Alan Ryan
Aidan Browne Mikey Cottrell Mikey Browne
Hugh O'Connor John Ryan
Conor O'Keeffe Kevin O'Sullivan Barry O'Connor
Donal Hannon Rory Lynn Darren O'Keeffe
Subs: Cathal Browne for Conor O'Keeffe (25, Inj), Daniel Norton for Alan Ryan (29, Inj), Paddy Browne for John Ryan (47), Gavin Forde for Kevin O'Sullivan.

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 3 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors