Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2024 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Hurlers secure league final berth

The Junior A hurlers got the better of Millstreet on Sunday morning the 11th of June, in their league semi final contest.

A bright start from Newmarket saw them race into a 1-05 lead, with points from Conor O’Keeffe (2), Donal Hannon and 1-01 from corner forward Darren O’Keeffe. Millstreet responded with a goal on nine minutes, but were unable to match Newmarket who rattled off ten unanswered points through Conor O’Keeffe, John Ryan (2), Barry O’Connor, Mikey Browne, Kevin O’Sullivan, Donal Hannon (2f), Aidan Browne and Rory Lynn, to lead 1-15 to 1-00 at the break.

Newmarket continued to control the match after the resumption with points from Conor O’Keeffe, Rory Lynn, Hugh O’Connor, Donal Hannon (2), Gavin Forde and Kevin O’Sullivan. A Barry O’Connor goal on 42 minutes all but confirmed the result, with Millstreet unable to create scoring opportunities. Points from Donal Hannon (3), Rory Lynn, Conor O’Keeffe and Barry O’Connor completed Newmarket’s scoring as they ran out 2-27 to 1-07 winners in the one sided contest in Kilbrin. Newmarket take on Banteer in the league final on Thursday night (22nd), again in Kilbrin at 7:30pm. Please come out and support the team. Áth Trasna Abú.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Donal Hannon (0-9, 8f), Conor O’Keeffe (0-05), Barry O’Connor (1-02), Darren O’Keeffe (1-01), Rory Lynn (0-03), Kevin O’Sullivan (0-02), John Ryan (0-02), Mikey Browne (0-01), Aidan Browne (0-01), Hugh O’Connor (0-01), Gavin Forde (0-01).

Shane McAuliffe
Donnacha Fitzpatrick Josh O'Keeffe Alan Ryan
Mikey Browne Mikey Cottrell Aidan Browne
John Ryan Hugh O'Connor
Conor O'Keeffe Kevin O'Sullivan Barry O'Connor
Donal Hannon Rory Lynn Darren O'Keeffe
Subs: Gavin Forde for Darren O'Keeffe (38), Kevin Daly for Mikey Browne (46), Eoin Walsh for John Ryan (46)

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Ducon Cup
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors