Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2024 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Footballers return to winning ways

Friday night saw the clash of second versus third with the Newmarket senior footballers taking on Uibh Laoire in round 6 of Cork Credit Unions league.

With both sides sitting on eight points, a close contest was anticipated between the Premier Intermediate and the Intermediate A champions of 2021. The visitors took an early 0-01 to 0-03 advantage, with Paudie Allen accounting for Newmarket’s opening score. A Hugh O’Connor free on 11 minutes narrowed the gap to one. The home side took the lead for the first time on 17 minutes when Ryan O’Keeffe finished to the Uibh Laoire net. A second O’Connor free extended the gap to three, with the visitors working their way back into the fixture through points on 24 and 25 minutes. Darren O’Keeffe responded for Newmarket shortly after, with a Hugh O’Connor point on the stroke of half time cancelling out Uibh Laoire’s sixth score of the day. The visitors converted the last opportunity of the period, to go in at the break down 1-05 to 0-07.

David Cottrell opened the scoring after the resumption, with the Muskerry side responding moments later. The hosts pushed ahead on 40 minutes with points from Ryan O’Keeffe and Cathal Browne, putting a goal between the sides. Uibh Laoire continued to challenge, finding their ninth point two minutes later. A barren spell was broken by Barry O’Connor on 56 minutes with Uibh Laoire completing the evening’s scoring soon after. The 1-09 to 0-10 victory for Newmarket sees them hold second spot, with three rounds of the regular season to go.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Ryan O’Keeffe (1-01), Hugh O’Connor (0-03, 2f), Paudie Allen (0-01), Cathal Browne (0-01), Darren O’Keeffe (0-01), David Cottrell (0-01), Barry O’Connor (0-01).

Josh O'Keeffe
Paddy Browne Alan Ryan Paudie Allen
Aidan Browne T. J. Brosnan Bart Daly
Mikey Cottrell Cathal Browne
Darren O'Keeffe Hugh O'Connor David Cottrell
John Ryan Barry O'Connor Ryan O'Keeffe
Subs: Ethan Hourigan for TJ Brosnan, Paudie O'Sullivan for Darren O'Keeffe

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Ducon Cup
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors