Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2024 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Hurlers have too much scoring power for Banteer

A high scoring performance by the Newmarket hurlers on Thursday night accounted for Banteer in their league encounter.

A cagey first ten minutes saw the sides level at three points a piece, with Donal Hannon (2) and Barry O’Connor on target for Newmarket. Points from Alan Ryan, Rory Lynn, Donal Hannon and Ryan O’Keeffe edged the home side ahead, with a Hannon goal on 22 minutes pushing the advantage out to five, 1-07 to 0-05. Further scores from Hannon, Roy Lynn (2), Conor O’Keeffe and Kevin O’Sullivan handed Newmarket a strong 1-12 to 0-07 lead at the break.

The opening score of the second half all but confirmed the match outcome, with Conor O’Keeffe finishing an opportunity to the Banteer net. A Ryan O’Keeffe point and a Donal Hannon free, continued Newmarket’s dominance. A free from Donal Hannon, as well as points from substitutes Cathal Browne, Hugh O’Connor and Darren O’Keeffe meant Newmarket entered the last ten minutes 12 points to the good. A strong closing display, with points from Darren O’Keeffe, Michael Cottrell, Donal Hannon (2) and Hugh O’Connor confirmed Newmarket’s win on home soil, with the scoreboard reading 2-24 to 0-14 at the final whistle.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Donal Hannon (1-08, 7f), Conor O’Keeffe (1-01), Rory Lynn (0-03), Hugh O’Connor (0-03), Darren O’Keeffe (0-02), Ryan O’Keeffe (0-02), Cathal Browne (0-01), Michael Cottrell (0-01), Alan Ryan (0-01), Kevin O’Sullivan (0-01), Barry O’Connor (0-01).

Shane McAuliffe
Paudie Allen Josh O'Keeffe Daniel Norton
Mikey Browne Mikey Cottrell Aidan Browne
Alan Ryan John Ryan
Ryan O'Keeffe Kevin O'Sullivan Barry O'Connor
Conor O'Keeffe Rory Lynn Donal Hannon
Subs: Darren O'Keeffe for John Ryan (40), Hugh O'Connor for Barry O'Connor (40), Ben Newman for Shane McAuliffe (43), Colin O'Sullivan for Ryan O'Keeffe (43), Cathal Browne for Conor O'Keeffe (43), Donncha Fitzpatrick for Josh O'Keeffe (43), Eoin Walsh for Daniel Norton (54), Kevin Daly for Aidan Browne (54)

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 3 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors