Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2024 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Loss leaves Hurlers in limbo

Defeat to Kilbrin in Round two of the E. Tarrant and Sons Duhallow Junior A Hurling Championship on Friday night, has left Newmarket awaiting the outcome of the Kilbrin Castlemagner clash, to find out if they qualify for the knockout stages.

Following a strong showing in the opening round against Castlemagner, Newmarket found themselves behind 0-03 to 1-05 at the quarter hour mark. Kilbrin continued to dominate the scoring and led 0-09 to 1-12, at the short whistle.

Into the second half, Newmarket slowly narrowed the gap, reducing it to a single puck of a ball on 43 minutes, 0-14 to 1-14. Kilbrin maintained the advantage over the next fifteen minutes and despite Newmarket registering the final two scores of the contest, Kilbrin held out to secure the win by the narrowest of margins, 0-19 to 1-17.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Conor O’Keeffe (0-07, 6f), Gavin Forde (0-05, 5f), Michael Cottrell (0-02), Cathal Browne (0-01), Kevin O’Sullivan (0-01), Darren O’Keeffe (0-01),  Barry O’Connor (0-01), Tadhg Ryan (0-01)

Ben Newman
Jamie Hayes Alan Ryan Daniel Norton
John Ryan Mikey Cottrell Paudie Allen
Mikey Browne Gavin Forde
Cathal Browne Paddy Browne Kevin O'Sullivan
Darren O'Keeffe Conor O'Keeffe Barry O'Connor
Subs: Michael Lane, Tadhg Ryan

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 3 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors