Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2023 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Hurlers qualify for league final

Newmarket travelled to Banteer on Thursday evening to take on Millstreet in the league semi-final.

An early goal and a point from Millstreet was quickly cancelled out through scores from Conor and Josh O’Keeffe, as well as Barry O’Connor and Mikey Cottrell. A further brace from Darren O’Keeffe put Newmarket ahead on the quarter hour, 0-06 to 1-02. A pair of 65s from Conor O’Keeffe along, with points from Mikey Browne and Barry O’Connor, gave their side a three point advantage heading into injury time, but late scores from Millstreet ensured only the minimum separated the sides at the break, 0-10 to 1-06.

Opening points from Conor (2) and Darren O’Keeffe were cancelled out soon after, when Millstreet netted their second goal of the evening. Soon after Conor O’Keeffe contributed another hat-trick of points, with Millstreet registering 1-01 of their own, the goal levelling the contest 0-16 to 3-07. Newmarket regained the lead through Darren O’Keeffe and Mikey Browne, with Conor O’Keeffe striking the opposition net shortly after. His goal was followed up with another, this time from Barry O’Connor. Further points in the closing stages from Conor O’Keeffe, Darren O’Keeffe and Barry O’Connor ensured Newmarket claimed the high scoring win, 2-21 to 3-11.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Conor O’Keeffe (c) (1-09, 5f), Barry O’Connor (1-03), Darren O’Keeffe (0-05), Mikey Browne (0-02), Josh O’Keeffe (0-01), Michael Cottrell (0-01). 

Shane McAuliffe
John Ryan Jamie Hayes Michael Lane
Jack O'Connor Mikey Cottrell Paddy Browne
Mikey Browne Daniel Norton
Colin O'Sullivan Kevin O'Sullivan Josh O'Keeffe
Darren O'Keeffe Conor O'Keeffe Barry O'Connor
Subs: David Cottrell, Paudie Allen

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Clyda Rovers:0-09
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors