Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2022 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Hurlers bow out of the Championship

Newmarket and Millstreet travelled to Meelin on Sunday last, the 10th of October, with a place in the E Tarrant and Son’s Junior A Duhallow Final at stake.

Millstreet opened the scoring, with three unanswered points early on in the contest. Newmarket responded through a Gavin Forde free, followed by a Cathal Browne point from play on 10 minutes. A second Forde free, four minutes later, levelled up the game, 0-03 a piece. Millstreet restored their lead shortly after, before a brace of frees from Forde, put his side ahead for the first time. A 22nd minute Millstreet point, brought parity to the sides again, but the unnerving accuracy of Forde continued, as he scored three further points from placed ball. Millstreet reduced the gap to two on 29 mins and a further point, three minutes into injury time, meant Newmarket lead by the narrowest of margins, 0-08 to 0-07, at the short whistle.

On the resumption, Millstreet quickly levelled up the match and followed up with the key score of the contest, a 32nd minute a goal. A pair of frees from Forde, kept pace with the Millstreet scoring, but the gap remained three, with 20 minutes remaining. Further Newmarket points, again from Forde, narrowed the difference to two briefly but the goal still separated the teams on 45 mins, 0-12 to 1-12. An impressive 12th point from Forde on 47 minutes, again brought the sides closer, but further scores from Millstreet on 48 and 52 minutes pushed the lead to four, with time running out. A Kevin O’Sullivan point on 54 minutes put puck of a ball between the sides again, but a Millstreet brace on 57 and 59 minutes extended the lead to five. An injury time Ryan O’Keeffe point, rounded off Newmarket’s scoring, with a late Millstreet point ensuring they would contest the Duhallow Final, running out 0-15 to 1-17 winners on the day.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Gavin Forde (0-12, 12f), Cathal Browne (0-01), Ryan O’Keeffe (0-01), Kevin O’Sullivan (0-01).

Darragh Kearney
Donnacha Fitzpatrick Alan Ryan Paudie Allen
Jamie Hayes John Ryan Kevin O'Sullivan
Mikey Cottrell Mikey Browne
Darren O'Keeffe Gavin Forde Cathal Browne
Ryan O'Keeffe Stephen Stokes Conor O'Keeffe
Subs: Barry O'Connor, Niall Collins.

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Venue:Pairc Ui Chaoimh
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors