Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2022 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Na Piarsaigh get the better of Newmarket

The Newmarket footballers must take on Castletownbere in a do or die clash, in the final group game of the Premier Intermediate Football Championship, knowing a win is a must and even a victory may not guarantee progress to the knockout stages. The team find themselves in this position following defeat to Na Piarsaigh on Saturday last, the 25th of September.

Having drawn their opening match against Aghada, Newmarket got on the scoreboard early, with points from Conor and Ryan O’Keeffe, to lead 0-02 to 0-01, after six minutes. The contest was level soon after, but a hat-trick of scores from the boot of Conor O’Keeffe pushed his side 0-05 to 0-02 ahead, at the quarter hour mark. The city side grew into the game, closing the gap to just a point, before a Ryan O’Keeffe free ensured Newmarket lead 0-06 to 0-04 at the first water break. A 21st minute free from Conor O’Keeffe maintained the Duhallow side’s two point advantage, but the remainder of the half’s scoring was done by Na Piarsaigh, as they rattled off four unanswered points, to go into the break 0-07 to 0-09 ahead.

On the resumption, the city side quickly doubled their lead, and Newmarket were dealt with a further blow when Bart Daly was dismissed on 36 minutes. Points from Conor O’Keeffe and TJ Brosnan narrowed the arrears, but Na Piarsaigh again hit back with another point of their own. A 44th minute score  from Alan Ryan, meant Newmarket trailed by two, entering the final water break. After the restart, Na Piarsaigh added to their total and despite a 57th minute point from Conor O’Keeffe, Newmarket could not close the gap further. The Seandún side completed the afternoons scoring on 62 minutes, to win out 0-11 to 0-14, leaving Newmarket’s continued presence in the Championship in a precarious position.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Conor O’Keeffe (0-07, 2f), Ryan O’Keeffe (0-02 2f), Alan Ryan (0-01), TJ Brosnan (0-01).

Ben Newman
Mikey Browne Alan Ryan Paudie Allen
Kevin O'Sullivan Gavin Forde Bart Daly
T. J. Brosnan Mikey Cottrell
Darren O'Keeffe Cathal Browne David Cottrell
Conor O'Keeffe Ryan O'Keeffe John Ryan
Subs: Tim Murphy, Barry O'Connor.

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Venue:Pairc Ui Chaoimh
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors