Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2024 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Browne shines as Junior B Hurlers start strong

The Newmarket Junior B hurlers travelled to Meelin on Thursday night last, the 1st July, to take on the home side, in the first round of the league, with the match also acting as the opening clash of the Singleton Cup.

The visitors started brightly, with a Robert Stack point followed quickly by a Colin O’Sullivan goal. Meelin replied with a point of their own shortly after, only to see it cancelled out by Newmarket’s Mikey Browne. With barely eight minutes on the clock, Newmarket had their second goal through full-forward Robert Stack, giving his side a lead of 2-02 to 0-02. A Stephen Stokes score, followed by a brace from Mikey Browne, ensured Newmarket held a strong seven point advantage entering the first water break. Browne continued his scoring after the resumption, with further points from play and placed ball, separated by a Gavin Forde free. With two minutes remaining in the half, Paudie O’Sullivan rounded off Newmarket’s scoring, re-enforcing his side’s lead at the break, 2-09 to 0-05.

Meelin began the second period the brighter side, with the opening two scores. Newmarket responded quickly with a Mikey Browne point from play, followed by a third goal, this time from Jamie Hayes. A Browne free maintained Newmarket’s lead into the final water break, 3-11 to 0-08. The visitors kept the scoreboard ticking over, with another Browne free, followed by scores from Jamie Hayes and Gavin Forde. With eight points to his name already, Mikey Browne rounded off his impressive tally, with a free followed by a well taken goal on 57 minutes. A Gavin Forde 65, followed by two quick points from Jamie Hayes, ensured Newmarket replicated their 2-09 scoring of the first half, securing a strong win, 4-18 to 0-08.

The Newmarket team and scorers…
Mikey Browne (1-09), Jamie Hayes (1-03), Robert Stack (1-01), Colin O’Sullivan (1-00), Gavin Forde (0-03), Stephen Stokes (0-01), Paudie O’Sullivan (0-01). 

Ben Newman
Sean Murphy Brendan Stack Darragh Lynn
Jamie Hayes Kevin O'Sullivan David Cottrell
Gavin Forde Eddie Allen
Stephen Stokes Colin O'Sullivan Paudie O'Sullivan
Mikey Browne Robert Stack Shane McAuliffe
Subs: Peter Goggin, Josh O'Keeffe.

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 3 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors