Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Last Minute Goal Denies Newmarket Two League Points

A last minute goal sees Eire Og over the line in a 1-07 to 0-09 point victory over Newmarket. The game was played February 18th in Ovens.

Eire Og hit the ground running, racing into a 3 point lead after three minutes. Newmarket came to grips with the pace of the home side and got on the scoreboard when Ryan O’Keeffe won a free inside and Daniel Culloty taped it over. Ryan O’Keeffe was showing well inside, however Eire Og were playing a defence system limiting the space for the Newmarket forwards. The away team began hitting hard and running at the Eire Og defence allowing for more scoring chance to be created. On the 18th minute a great turn over from wing back Bart Daly who then set up lively forward Barry O’Connor, who registered his first score of the game. A low scoring encounter showed the home side leading on a score line of 0-04 to 0-03 at the break.

The home side registered the first score of the second half, however two quick points coming from TJ Brosnan and substitute Kevin O’Sullivan left the sides level at 0-05 to 0-05 after 40 minutes. On the 42nd second minute Newmarket took the lead for the first time in the match, when wing back Bart Daly tapped over a 13 metre free. The visitors showed some great team work which was creating many chances and with 23 minutes of the second half played Barry O’Connor fisted a point over which had the away side leading by 2 points. With normal time almost up O’Connor popped up again to put three between the sides. Eire Og scored a free on the 62nd minute to put two between the sides, however they were not giving up and in the 3rd minute of injury time, a high ball into the square from the home side resulted in a fisted goal which left the scoreboard showing 1-07 to 0-09 to the home side at the final whistle.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Barry O’Connor (0-03), Daniel Culloty (0-02) (F), Bart Daly (0-01) (F), TJ Brosnan (0-01), Donal Hannon (0-01) (F), Kevin O’Sullivan (0-01)

Shane McAuliffe
Paudie Allen Aidan Browne Donnacha Fitzpatrick
Bart Daly Alan Ryan Paddy Browne
T. J. Brosnan Michael Cottrell
Darren O'Keeffe Donal Hannon Eddie Allen
Ryan O'Keeffe Daniel Culloty Barry O'Connor
Subs: Kevin O'Sullivan, Tony O'Keeffe, Cathal Browne

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors