Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Robert Emmet’s progress to Duhallow Final

Robert Emmet’s progressed to a second consecutive Duhallow final with an Impressive win over Knocknagree.

Knocknagree started this game the brighter and they found the back of the net in the first minute. Robert Emmet’s responded with points from Conor O’Keeffe and Daniel Culloty. Knocknagree responded with two points to leave Knocknagree leading by 3 after ten minutes. Then a four point scoring burst from the Newmarket/Lismire combination saw them take control of this tie. More points from Culloty and Michael Cottrell were cancelled out by Knocknagree to see the side’s level with five minutes to go in the first half. Robert Emmet’s found the back of the net after a brilliant long range pass found Barry O’Connor who collected the ball superbly and sprinted away from the Knocknagree defence to smash the ball to the back of the net. Further points from Culloty and Barry O’Connor put Robert Emmet’s ahead on a score line of 1-10 to 1-6 at half time.

Again it was Culloty who found the target with two points inside the start of the second half. On the 40 minute the ball was collected by Conor O’Keeffe who slotted clinically past the Knocknagree goalkeeper to leave Robert Emmet’s in complete control. However the game was not over as Knocknagree marched straight down the field to score a goal of their own. Further points from Conor O’Keeffe, Barry O’Connor and three points from Culloty propelled Robert Emmet’s to an eight point lead with time up. Newmarket were led superbly in defence by Jack Guiney and Donal Hannon with Alan Ryan on top around the middle. Knocknagree did score a consolidation goal from a penalty with the last kick of the game. The final score line read Robert Emmet’s 2-18 Knocknagree 3-10. Robert Emmet’s now face Boherbue in the Duhallow final

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Daniel Culloty (0-11), Conor O’Keeffe (1-3), Barry O’Connor (1-2), Michael Cottrell (0-1), Donal Hannon (0-1)

Eoin O'Connell
Jason Sheehan Jack Guiney Daniel Norton
Jack Murphy Donal Hannon Michael McSweeney
Alan Ryan Mikey Cottrell
Conor O'Keeffe Cathal Browne Ryan O'Keeffe
Patrick Buckley Daniel Culloty Barry O'Connor
Subs: Cathal Field

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors