Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket record win over near neighbours Kiskeam

Newmarket Premier Intermediate Footballers got revenge over Kiskeam in the Division 2 Football League which was played on a splendid afternoon in Kiskeam. This was a repeat of last year’s first round championship in which Kiskeam won by a solitary point.

As expected nothing separated the sides as both teams traded score for score in the first 15 minutes. Newmarket through Conor O’Keeffe and Daniel Culloty found their range early on as the kicked fine scores to leave the teams level on 0-5 apiece after 15 minutes. Two further points from Kiskeam appeared to show some daylight between the teams however Colin O’Sullivan was on hand to fist a score over the bar for Newmarket. Colin’s brother Kevin O’Sullivan responded to a Kiskeam point with a well taken score. The critical score of the match occurred just before the half time whistle as TJ Brosnan embarked on a long run with the ball from his full back position beating several Kiskeam men in the process. He then proceeded to kick a fine effort in the top left hand corner of the net in what was remarkable effort. Newmarket led 1-07 to 0-8 points at half time

Again the second half was a tough ding dong battle with both teams trading scores with Daniel Culloty and Bart Daly on target for Newmarket as the score board read 1-10 to 0-13 with ten minutes to play, Two points from Daniel Culloty in the final period ensured Newmarket left with a maximum points over our fierce rivals. The final score line Newmarket 1-12 Kiskeam 0-13.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Daniel Culloty (0-07), Tj Brosnan (1-00), Conor O’Keeffe (0-02), Bart Daly (0-01), Kevin O’Sullivan (0-01), Colin O’Sullivan (0-01)

David Quinlan
Brian O’Riordan T. J. Brosnan Jack Guiney
Gavin Forde Paudie Allen John Ryan
Alan Ryan Bart Daly
Ryan O'Keeffe Kevin O'Sullivan Colin O'Sullivan
Conor O'Keeffe Daniel Culloty Tony O'Keeffe

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors