Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Junior B’s bow of championship at semi final stage

Newmarket bow out at semi final stage for a second year running to Kanturk in a game play in Lismire.

A disasterous start saw Newmarket trailing 2-07 to 0-02 after 25mins with both of Newmarket’s coming courtesy of Shane Congo Murphy. Kanturk continued to dominate the first half as they notched on a further 2-2 with Newmarket’s defence struggling to deal with Kanturks numerous overlapping runs. Newmarket did add a further 3 points with well taken scores by Ryan O’ Keeffe, Jacko and another from the boot of Shane Congo Murphy leaving it 4-09 to 0-05 at the short whistle.

Newmarket with a mountain climb in the second half began brightly with Jacko Flaherty scoring a very well taken goal thanks to great link up play with Hannon, Hannon himself was up ended in the square after a great run, and after dusting himself down he tucked away the resultant penalty leaving Newmarket trailing 4-10 to 2-06. It was all Newmarket at the beginning of the half as they tacked on 5 more points with 3 spectacular points coming from centre half back Kevin O’ Sullivan. Kanturk eventually stemmed Newmarket’s momentum with 3 points in a row but it was Shane Murphy who had the last say on the scoreboard with 3 great frees from distance. The final score 4-13 to 2-14 in favour of Kanturk.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Shane C Murphy (0-07), Donal Hannon (1-02), Jacko Flaherty (1-01), Kevin Sullivan (0-03), Ryan O’ Keeffe (0-01).

Kieran Lehane
Jack Guiney John Scanlon Daniel Norton
Brendan Stack Kevin O'Sullivan Jamie Hayes
Robert Stack Colin O'Sullivan
Nicky Barrett Donal Hannon Jacko Flaherty
Ryan O'Keeffe Shane Murphy Shane McAuliffe
Subs: Kevin O' Connor, Jeremy Murphy, Luke McCarthy, Daniel O' Doherty, Alan Forde

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors