Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Under 21’s footballers bow at county quarter final stage

Robert Emmetts bowed out of the u21A County Championship after they were defeated by Aghada on a scoreline of 0-10 to 1-14 in the Quarter Final.

Emmetts took the lead in the first minute with Culloty kicking over a beauty of a point but Aghada replied with a point of their own with the next attack. Ryan O’ Keeffe put Emmett back in front before Aghada began to assert their influence on the game with 4 points in a row to leave the East Cork Champions with a 0-5 to 0-2 lead midway through the first half. Conor O’ Keeffe briefly halted Aghadas dominance with a point of his own but Aghada were again to the fore with 3 more points without reply. Emmetts now trailing by 5 were thankful to key attacker Culloty to kick two fine points before the interval after good work by Alan Ryan and team captain Paudie Allen.

Two frees inside the first three mins of the second half from Conor O’ Keeffe gave Emmetts some renewed hope leaving the minimum between the two sides. But Aghada never relented and extended their lead with 2 further points. Conor O’ Keeffe and Culloty kicked over the next 2 scores to leave Emmetts down by 1 but Aghada had a purple patch of their own which saw them kick 1-4 without reply and end the game as a contest. But the final score of the game came courtesy of the lively Ryan O’ Keeffe who saw his effort sail over from thirty yards.

Emmetts will reflect on a memorable year which saw them lift their first Duhallow title at this grade since their recent amalgamation. Well done to all involved.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Daniel Culloty (0-4), Conor O’Keeffe (0-4), Ryan O’Keeffe (0-2).

Shane McAuliffe
Colm Noonan Jamie Hayes Daniel Norton
Gavin Forde Paudie Allen Aidan Browne
Jacko Flaherty Alan Ryan
Conor O'Keeffe Donal Hannon Sean McSweeney
Jeremy Murphy Daniel Culloty Ryan O'Keeffe
Subs: Daniel O'Doherty, Cathal Field.

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors