Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Junior B footballers defeated

Newmarket were defeated in their second junior B football league outing at home to Boherbue by 1-14 to 1-9 at Newmarket on Wednesday evening.

Boherbue hit the opening point within a minute of the throw in. Scores were at a premium in the early stages but Gavin Forde got forward from his half back position to kick an equalizer in the ninth minute. Newmarket had a good spell and points from Daniel Culloty and Jonathan Flaherty put them into the lead after nineteen minutes. However, Boherbue swung the pendulum in their favour by striking a rich vein of form for the remainder of the half. Two points ensured parity at 0-3 apiece entering the closing ten minutes of the half. Boherbue regained the lead with a point in the twenty second minute and stretched the lead on converting a penalty. The visitors ended the half with another point to enter the interval with a lead of 1-5 to 0-3.

Boherbue maintained their momentum upon the restart as three points in seven minutes put the visitors in a commanding eight point lead. Anthony Lynch ended a nineteen minute scoreless spell for Newmarket with a much needed point and two Eddie Allen points brought Newmarket closer to their opponents by the midway stage of the second half. Newmarket tried to retrieve the deficit further but the next four points were divided with Barry O’Connor and Nicky Flanagan on target. As the game entered the final ten minutes, Newmarket stepped up the pressure as the impressive John Scanlon on one of several bursts forward up the field was on hand to take a pass and crash home a goal to suddenly just leave three points between the sides. John Scanlon almost repeated the feat with another piledriver which the Boherbue goalkeeper did superbly to divert over the bar. Boherbue withstood the pressure and finished strongly as three points in quick succession clinched the points.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

John Scanlon (1-1), Gavin Forde (0-1), Jonathan Flaherty (0-1), Eddie Allen (0-2), Daniel Culloty (0-1), Anthony Lynch (0-1), Nicky Flanagan (0-1), Barry O’Connor (0-1),

Kieran Lehane
Alan Forde John Scanlon Jeremy Murphy
Gavin Forde Pa O’Brien Alan Ryan
Brendan Stack Jonathan Flaherty
Eddie Allen Daniel Culloty Anthony Lynch
Luke McCarthy Nicky Flanagan Barry O'Connor
Subs: Kevin O’Connor, Jamie Hayes, Jack Guiney, John Lane, Tadhg Ryan

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors