Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2024 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket bow out of junior B hurling championship

Kilbrin defeated Newmarket by 2-11 to 0-10 in the junior B hurling championship game played on a dreary and damp Saturday evening in Lismire.

Newmarket played against a strong breeze in the first half but did open the scoring as John Lane slotted over a free within the first minute of the throw in. Kilbrin found the target with a long range equalizer in the fifth minute and gained a vital platform as an alert full forward line pounced on a loose ball to net in the ninth minute.

Newmarket replied with a well taken score from the tireless and industrious Eddie Allen, who was an outstanding performer throughout the game. Kilbrin were potent in attack and struck for a second quickfire goal on eleven minutes. This gave them a five point lead and their more fluent and sharper hurling was to the fore. Two further points followed before Paul Verling yielded the slide with a converted free for Newmarket.

Kilbrin added a further two points to their tally in both difficult conditions and a tricky surface. Newmarket were frustrated in their efforts as despite valiant effort and some tremendous displays from Jamie Hayes, Eddie Allen and Shane Anthony Murphy they failed to reward their endeavour into scores.

Kilbrin went into the break with a lead of 2-5 to 0-3.

Newmarket resumed in spectacular fashion as Colin O’Sullivan pointed a free from well within his own half. Kilbrin replied with a well taken point but Newmarket did go on to enjoy periods of dominance with some neat approach play. To their detriment, Newmarket struggled to convert chances into scores as a flurry of wides and missed chances followed in comparison to a deadly Kilbrin forward line who added several classy points from at times limited opportunities, into a strong wind.

John Lane from a free and another memorable point from Eddie Allen added to Newmarket’s tally but Kilbrin answered with two points to ensure they maintained a lead of 2-8 to 0-6 at the end of the third quarter. Newmarket rallied again as John Lane pointed a free and Shane Anthony Murphy was rewarded for his efforts with a finely struck point. However, Kilbrin prevented inroads on their lead by adding the next two points.

Substitutes Billy Daly and Donnacha O’Dea made an impact in attack as Shane Anthony Murphy scored his second point of the evening. The last two scores were divided as Billy Daly struck over the final point of the game but Kilbrin maintained their advantage all through, once finding the breakthrough with the two early first half goals.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

John Lane (0-3), Shane Anthony Murphy (0-2), Eddie Allen (0-2), Colin O’Sullivan (0-1), Paul Verling (0-1), Billy Daly (0-1)

Nicky Barrett
Michael O’Leary Jamie Hayes Alan Forde
Billy Lane Eamon Murphy Eoin O'Connell
John Lane Colin O'Sullivan
David Quinlan Shane A Murphy Eddie Allen
Paul Verling Anthony Crowley Daniel O'Doherty
Subs: Jack Birtley, Billy Daly, Donnacha O’Dea, Jeremy Murphy

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Ducon Cup
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors