Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket hurlers defeated in playoff

Newmarket were defeated by an impressive Kilbrin side in the junior B hurling league playoff game played at Kilbrin on Sunday evening where the home side emerged with a 2-16 to 1-7 victory.

Newmarket were first to score with Paul Verling converting a long range free in the opening minute. Kilbrin were level within a minute before they added two further points by the seventh minute. Paul Verling was again on target with a well converted twelfth minute free as Newmarket cut the deficit to a point. Kilbrin were guilty of hitting a succession of wides during the first half but they still scored heavily. They had the next two points but Paul Verling kept Newmarket in touch with another brace of points to leave to score at 0-5 to 0-4 after twenty minutes. Kilbrin found a way past Newmarket’s excellent goalkeeper Shane McAuliffe, for the first time with a twenty third minute goal and they gathered momentum to add a further two points. A second goal followed as the half came to a conclusion and a Michael Kenneally point was Newmarket’s solitary reply in between another pair of Kilbrin points which gave them a commanding advantage of 2-9 to 0-5 at half time.

Kilbrin assumed further control on adding three points after the restart before the industrious and hard working Eddie Allen pointed for Newmarket. Kilbrin pointed again before Newmarket’s endeavour was rewarded with Robert Stack on hand to finish to the net from close range following a goalmouth scramble which resulted from a free which dropped close to goal. Kilbrin closed out victory on adding three points before the conclusion with Robert Stack on target with a point for Newmarket.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Robert Stack (1-1), Paul Verling (0-4), Eddie Allen (0-1), Michael Kenneally (0-1).

Shane McAuliffe
Paudie Allen John McSweeney Billy Lane
Donnacha Fitzpatrick Michael O’Leary Anthony Crowley
Eddie Allen Michael Kenneally
Jacko Flaherty Brendan Stack Billy Daly
David Quinlan Robert Stack Paul Verling
Subs: Gavin Forde, Kieran Lehane, Danny O’Connell, Denis McCarthy, Matthew Fitzpatrick

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors