Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2024 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Hurlers defeated in difficult conditions

Newmarket were defeated by near neighbours Meelin in the semi final of the Singleton Cup by 2-11 to 1-8 in a game played in difficult wet conditions at Newmarket on Monday evening.

Newmarket began brightly as John Lane and Colin O’Sullivan pointed within six minutes. Meelin scored their first point in the twelfth minute in the midst of a heavy downpour with Jonathan Flaherty making light of the conditions by pointing from a difficult angle a minute later. Meelin were next to score but midway through the half, Newmarket corner forward Barry O’Leary gathered possession and crashed an unstoppable shot to the roof of the net for the games first goal. A scoreless ten minute spell followed as both sides missed a number of good scoring chances in the poor conditions. As the half entered the closing minutes, Meelin finished very strongly. Three points followed in as many minutes before the productive period ended with a telling goal in the final minute of the half. Newmarket did have time to register another point with Kevin O’Sullivan on target from a long range free to leave Meelin in front by 1-5 to 1-4 at the halfway mark.

Meelin stretched their advantage within three minutes of the restart before John Ryan pointed for Newmarket two minutes later. In their next attack, Newmarket regained parity with John Ryan converting a free. Twelve minutes into the half Shane Murphy edged Newmarket in front but the lead was short lived as Meelin equalized from the resultant puckout to leave the score at 1-7 apiece. Meelin seized the initiative at this stage and a brace of points forged them in front again. John Lane reduced the lead to a minimum again with little over ten minutes remaining, but this proved to be Newmarket’s final score of the contest. Meelin pointed before a match clinching second goal followed with little over six minutes to play. The visitors sealed their victory with a further point towards the end to claim a place in the final.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Barry O’Leary (1-0), John Ryan (0-2), John Lane (0-2), Kevin O’Sullivan (0-1), Shane Murphy (0-1), Jonathan Flaherty (0-1), Colin O’Sullivan (0-1).

Shane McAuliffe
Michael O’Leary Brendan Stack Paudie Allen
Michael Kenneally Kevin O'Sullivan Robert Stack
Tony O'Keeffe Shane Murphy
Jonathan Flaherty Colin O'Sullivan John Ryan
Barry O'Leary Billy Daly John Lane
Subs: Nicky Flanagan, Ian Flanagan, David Quinlan, Timothy Murphy.

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 3 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors