Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

League defeat for hurlers

Newmarket suffered a disappointing league defeat away to Tullylease on Wednesday evening when the home side were convincing winners by 2-15 to 0-10.

The game began very brightly as four points were shared within the first eight minutes as Kevin O’Sullivan and John Ryan brought Newmarket level on two occasions. However, even as early as the sixth minute, Newmarket were given an indication of what to expect when outstanding young goalkeeper Shane McAuliffe produced a stunning double save to keep his goal in tact. Tullylease did find a way past the Newmarket goalkeeper in their next attack as they opened up the defence. The home side were relentless and three further points gave them a lead of 1-5 to 0-2 after fifteen minutes. Newmarket simply had no answer to Tullylease as they swept forward in a procession of attacks which yielded another four points without reply.

Newmarket gained a reprieve in the twenty third minute when John Ryan pointed but despite the continuing heroics of Shane McAuliffe, Tullylease crashed home a second goal from close range. Two points were exchanged before the end of the half as John Ryan again converted a free which left the score at half time reading 2-10 to 0-4 in favour of Tullylease.

Tullylease were first to point after the restart with John Lane answering with a point for Newmarket. The sides swapped the next four points with John Ryan and Kevin O’Sullivan on target for Newmarket. As the game entered the final quarter, Newmarket offered a slight improvement with John Lane and John Ryan twice pointing but Tullylease also had two further points to seal a comfortable victory and qualification for the latter stages of the league.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

John Ryan (0-6), John Lane (0-2), Kevin O’Sullivan (0-2).

Shane McAuliffe
Michael O’Leary Billy Daly Nicky Flanagan
Michael Kenneally Kevin O'Sullivan Conor Cronin
Barry O'Leary Colin O'Sullivan
John Ryan Jonathan Flaherty Tony O'Keeffe
Donnacha Fitzpatrick Robert Stack John Lane
Subs: Timothy Murphy, David Enright, Niall O’Connor,Gavin Forde, David Quinlan

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors