Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2024 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Free scoring game end in defeat

Newmarket completed their junior hurling league program with a home defeat to Banteer by 2-17 to 0-16 in blustery conditions at Newmarket on Sunday morning.

Newmarket got off to the worst possible start when Banteer found the net within two minutes. John Lane pointed in the fourth minute with Banteer adding their first point of the game a minute later. The sides shared four points by the eleventh minute as two pointed frees from John Ryan left the score reading 1-3 to 0-3. John Ryan was again on target from a free before Banteer engineered a well worked goal with three points adding to a sizeable advantage. Brendan Stack impressed in the Newmarket attack and he scored a well taken point with Barry O’Leary repeating the feat a minute later to leave the score reading 2-6 to 0-6 by the twenty first minute. Banteer were next to score but Brendan Stack and John Lane brought Newmarket to within five points. Banteer scored two of the final three points of the half with John Lane getting his third point of the game which left the score reading 2-9 to 0-9 at half time.

Banteer began the second half with three unanswered points before John Lane scored two fine points within a minute for Newmarket. The next two points were divided with John Lane again on target which left the score at 2-13 to 0-12 with thirteen minutes remaining. Banteer increased their lead on adding the next two points before Donnacha Fitzpatrick found the target for Newmarket, eight minutes from time. Banteer scored next but the prolific John Lane replied with two more points of his own. The final two points were shared with John Lane again the Newmarket marksman as a free scoring contest came to a conclusion.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

John Lane (0-9), John Ryan (0-3), Brendan Stack (0-2), Barry O’Leary (0-1), Donnacha Fitzpatrick (0-1).

Shane McAuliffe
Michael O’Leary Billy Daly Nicky Flanagan
Gavin Forde Kevin O'Sullivan Shane Murphy
Colin O'Sullivan Jonathan Flaherty
John Ryan Brendan Stack David Quinlan
Barry O'Leary Robert Stack John Lane
Subs: Niall O’Connor, Paudie Allen, Michael Kenneally, Donnacha Fitzpatrick, Eddie Allen.

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Ducon Cup
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors