Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Youthful Under 21 hurlers bow out of championship

A youthful and depleted Newmarket team exited the Duhallow under 21 hurling championship when they endured a 3-13 to 1-8 defeat away to Millstreet on Saturday evening.

Faced to lineout without a few key players due to injury, Newmarket faced a very difficult task from the outset. The opening score of the game came in the fourth minute with Millstreet pointing and they repeated this a minute later. A commanding beginning by the home side was further strengthened by a goal and a ninth minute point. Gavin Forde scored Newmarket’s first point of the game on converting a long range free in the fifteenth minute but the home side got through a battling Newmarket rearguard for a second goal in the nineteenth minute. They added another two points before striking a third goal to take a very commanding advantage. To their credit, Newmarket battled gamely and were led by some excellent displays in defence from Paudie Allen and Nicky Barrett while Billy Daly battled tirelessly for the team. The half ended with Gavin Forde pointing for a second time before the outstanding Jacko Flaherty also pointed to leave Newmarket trailing, 3-5 to 0-3 at half time.

Millstreet resumed the second half by adding five points to their tally in a nine minute spell before substitute Con McAuliffe added a fine point after some trojan play from Jack Birtley. Newmarket grew in confidence as Gavin Forde pointed before Eddie Allen struck a fine finish to the net after being set up by the influential Jonathan Flaherty. Millsteet had the next point but Conor Cronin also found the target from a long range free. As the game entered the final ten minutes the sides went on to share the last four points as Newmarket added to their tally through Jonathan Flaherty and Gavin Forde as they put up a battling display to the very end.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Gavin Forde (0-4), Eddie Allen (1-0), Jacko Flaherty (0-2), Con McAuliffe (0-1), Conor Cronin (0-1).

Shane McAuliffe
Paudie Allen Billy Daly Nicky Barrett
Michael O’Leary Conor Cronin Jack Birthley
Patrick Kelly Gavin Forde
Eddie Allen Jacko Flaherty Kieran Lehane
Vinny Molloy Denis McCarthy Paul Verling
Subs: Con McAuliffe, Billy Lane, Luke McCarthy, Danny O’Connell.

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors