Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Hurlers defeated in Under 21 hurling championship

Kanturk had a clear victory over Newmarket by 2-14 to 0-8 in the opening round of the Duhallow under 21 hurling championship played in ideal conditions at Newmarket on Saturday evening.

Newmarket were first off the mark with Gavin Forde slotting over a pointed free in the second minute. The early exchanges were tight all over the field with Kanturk ending a long period of play without a score on pointing an eleventh minute equalizer.

Gavin Forde edged Newmarket in front but Kanturk responded with a point in the sixteenth minute. Paul Verling regained a slender advantage for Newmarket with a well taken point from a narrow angle following a long sideline delivery from Conor Cronin but once again Kanturk gained parity almost instantly. For the fourth time, Newmarket led when Conor Cronin scored a fine point but in following with what had preceded, Kanturk found a levelling score a minute later. As the half entered the closing minutes, Kanturk stepped up the tempo and four quick fire points in six minutes changed the complexion of the scoreboard. Newmarket’s rearguard which played admirably were under incessant pressure and crucially two goals in the dying minutes of the half gave Kanturk a considerable 2-8 to 0-4 half time advantage.

Newmarket resumed with Gavin Forde converting a long range free from midfield within a minute of the restart. Kanturk added three points in succession in a fourteen minute spell as Newmarket competed gamely with their opponents. Ian Flanagan added a brace of Newmarket points as the scoring rate dipped in the second half. The sides went on to share a brace of points with Ian Flanagan on target for a third time. The game concluded with two Kanturk points as they played out the contest.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Gavin Forde (0-3), Ian Flanagan (0-3), Conor Cronin (0-1), Paul Verling (0-1),

Shane McAuliffe
Michael O’Leary Billy Daly Paudie Allen
David Enright Brendan Stack Gavin Forde
Nicky Barrett Conor Cronin
Kieran Lehane Jonathan Flaherty Vinny Molloy
Paul Verling David Quinlan Eddie Allen
Subs: Ian Flanagan, Danny O’Connell, Con McAuliffe.

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors