Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket bow out of U21 championship

Newmarket bowed out of the Duhallow Under 21 football championship after a disappointing second round defeat away to Boherbue on Saturday afternoon by 1-8 to 1-2.

The home side never looked back once they opened the scoring with a point in the sixth minute. It wasn’t until the eighteenth minute before the next score of the game but crucially it was a Boherbue goal. They stretched their advantage on adding two further points to enjoy a six point lead. Newmarket struggled in attack and had to wait until the twenty seventh minute to register a score with Ian Flanagan on target from a free. As the half concluded, Boherbue enjoyed a lead of 1-3 to 0-1.

Boherbue resumed with a bright start to the second half and three points followed within six minutes. Newmarket trying valiantly, again struggled to make an impact on their opponents. As the third quarter of the half came to a conclusion, midfielder Ian Flanagan set off on a fine individual solo run and as he approached the twenty yard line he shot to the corner of the net for a wonderful goal. Newmarket were buoyed by this tonic score but it was Boherbue who had the next score to maintain their sizeable advantage. It was Ian Flanagan once more from a pointed free with Newmarket’s next score but unfortunately, with twelve minutes remaining, this proved to be his sides final score of the game. As the game ran to a conclusion, Boherbue added a further insurance point to run out clear victors.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Ian Flanagan (1-2)

David Quinlan
Anthony Lynch Michael O’Leary Paudie Allen
David Enright Brendan Stack Patrick Kelly
T. J. Brosnan Ian Flanagan
Nicky Barrett Gavin Forde Bryan O'connell
Jonathan Flaherty Luke McCarthy Eddie Allen
Subs: Conor Cronin, Vincent Molloy, Con McAuliffe, Liam O’Callaghan, Andy Twomey.

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors